What My Autistic Son’s Fear of Cycling Taught Me about Forgiveness

Plus how he finally conquered his fear

Dani Mini
Special Nation

--

Two men on bikes on the beach
Diego and his dad. Image by Author

Two summers ago, my husband and I caused Diego, my 26 year-old autistic son, to fear biking. It was not hard to do, which shows that you can never know who or what might turn something you actually like into something you avoid.

We were in Vermont at a friend’s home and decided, on our last morning there, to go on a bike ride. Funny how all bad things happen on the last day, the last ride, last run, last time.

The road was hilly and Diego doesn’t like to go fast, which is fine. I don’t much like speed either. But he was going so slow it wasn’t really biking.

On the first downhill, he was squeezing the brakes like mad and placing his feet on the ground. We got off the bikes and started walking.

“C’mon Diego. You know how to brake. Keep going.” Oh my lord. We cajoled, reasoned, tried creating some distance so he’d want to catch up. I even made him feel bad by telling him he should’ve stayed home.

Anyhow, we barely biked half a mile, which would take ten minutes to walk but took us twice that to bike-walk.

Just when we were to turn into the driveway, my husband, Cesar, said, “Hey, Diego, let me try your bike.” Surprise…

--

--

Dani Mini
Special Nation

Dani is a special education advocate and writer of anything worth pondering, from autism to Botox.