How To Start A Successful Business In 2021

Andrew Holliday
Special Sauce
Published in
5 min readMay 13, 2021

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

I’ve helped build more than one hundred brands over the last fifteen years. I can boil all of that experience down into one tip for starting a successful business…

Only play games you can win.

Don’t compete against a market leader in their favorite game. They’ll crush you. Tilt the odds in your favor.

I’m not saying you should avoid competition. Actually, quite the opposite. Seek juicy markets, but give yourself an unfair advantage.

Every market has holes if you search hard enough. Find a problem that isn’t currently being solved by the market leaders. Become very good at solving that problem and make it clear in every piece of communication.

That’s the quick and dirty version of how to launch a successful business. What follows is the step-by-step guide you can use to build a company.

Step 1: Identify A Problem

If you’re a subscriber to my blog or email, you’re probably thinking that I beat this point to death. You’re right. I obsess on the concept of problem branding because I feel it’s the single most important lesson an entrepreneur can learn to improve their odds of success.

Start by finding a problem worth solving. You’ll never struggle for revenue if your company solves…

--

--