A Day of Friends And Fundraising for Special Olympics DC!

Garrie Barnes
The Playbook
Published in
3 min readAug 10, 2018

I love getting to do new things with my Mom that help Special Olympics. Since Special Olympics is a big part of my family. And since we love baseball. And since the Special Olympics D.C. Polar Bear Plunge was going to be at the Nationals Stadium. It seemed like a no-brainer.

What is a Polar Bear Plunge you ask? A Polar Bear Plunge is a fundraiser for Special Olympics programs to raise funds by running in to really cold water or by jumping in really a cold pool.

So day of the plunge my Mom and I ride the metro down to the stadium to meet up with some of my Co-workers and with my swim coach Anne for a Saturday. It was a lot of fun but it would be a lot better if the weather were better because it was raining hard and cold. And I had to jump in the pool for the first time which was a little scary. But it was great having Anne there to help with jumping in the pool.

The polar bear plunge is also a great way to highlight unified partners. What is a unified partner you may ask? Well here are some great ideas from two of my good friends Novie and Chris of what it means to be unified partners:

What is it like for you to be a Unified Partner?

Novie says having Chris as her unified partner is like having a father you can go to for advice. And Chris says it is great to have a bond with someone who will respects you for who you are.

How long have you been a part of Special Olympics?

Novie has been in Special Olympics for 8 Years. And Chris has been in Special Olympics for 9 years.

What do you like about Special Olympics?

Novie likes that Special Olympics is a community of caring. And Chris says it’s a group that sticks together.

What was it like to plunge in that cold water together?

Chris and Novie say it’s having a special bond with someone and having a little cold fun together!

What are somethings you would like to let someone know who is thinking of being a Unified Partner?

Chris says its about getting to know someone that will be your teammate and friend.

What was it like for you to be a part of a big group of plungers?

Chris and Novie agree it is like a big family.

The Polar Plunge was a great way for me to do something fun with my coworkers and my coach, Anne, to help raise money for Special Olympics DC and to be able to take part in a fun unified partner event and get really cold doing it!

--

--

Garrie Barnes
The Playbook

Work at Special Olympics. I swim like a fish. I love making new friends. I like doing puzzles and coloring and singing.