#BestFriendGoals: Maggie & Donzel

Caroline Chevat
The Playbook
Published in
3 min readJun 7, 2019

June 8th is National Best Friends Day. We asked US Youth Ambassadors Maggie and Donzel from Special Olympics Illinois to share how much their friendship means to them.

Maggie

Maggie and Donzel posing for a picture at school.

“I met Donzel his freshmen year and my junior year of high school. The way I met him was in our Unified PE Class and Unified soccer. I didn’t realize how much of an impact he would make in my life the first day I met him. I would describe him as a energetic, happy, and loving person and friend. He always wants me to be happy and always has this positive aura around him. I personally believe that someone who loves, cares, and wants the best for you no matter what is what being a good friend is. Not only that, but always wants you to succeed and do better and that’s what Donzel helps me do. He gives me so much strength and power to continue doing what I love and that’s making a difference in the world. I’m beyond lucky and grateful that I get to do this with Donzel by my side and cheering both of us. He is my own personal cheerleader and I’m his. He will forever be one of the most important people in my life.”

Maggie and Donzel trying to stay dry at the Special Olympics Unified Champion Schools Conference in San Diego, CA

I remember in gym class I didn’t know anyone but that’s when I met Maggie. We did a dance unit which is how we became best friends. We played Unified soccer together my freshmen year. Maggie is very nice, smart, and helpful to everyone she meets and especially me. Maggie is a super good friend because she helps me 24/7, and is generous and drives me home sometimes when we stay after school together. She always says hi to me when she sees me in the hallway or when she comes and visits me in class. Meeting Maggie was the best thing in the world and I’m so happy I get to call her my best friend.”

Donzel and Maggie posing with Special Olympics Chairman Tim Shriver

About Special Olympics Unified Champion Schools:

Three million young people participate in 6,500 Special Olympics Unified Champion Schools® across the US with support from the US Office of Special Education Programs at the US Department of Education. These young people make up the Unified Generation. They are taking personal ownership within their schools and communities to ensure that everyone has the right to play, learn and live together through shared leadership opportunities of students with and without intellectual disabilities. To learn more about the Unified Generation, visit: https://www.generationunified.org/

--

--

Caroline Chevat
The Playbook

DC Native // Michigan Alum// Work and #PlayUnified with Special Olympics