Embracing Other’s Differences with Respect

Katie Brydon
The Playbook
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2019

A testimony from Best Buddies Global Ambassador, Jack Mayor, from Naperville, Illinois.

The campaign, Spread The Word, plays an extremely crucial role in the assistance of shaping our society’s perspective, as well as embracing other’s differences and respect. We as a society know what language is considered as expected or unexpected. We know how to correct our false perceptions on outlandish ideas of people with disabilities. We also know what is true or false.

Best Buddies Global Ambassador, Jack Mayor, at the Annual Best Buddies Hyannis Port Challenge.

Let me tell you something: just because someone looks or acts differently than you, does not mean that they are any less than you. A person’s label does not define their personality or character. We are all created uniquely, and each and every one of us possesses special gifts. I highly encourage you to stop labeling.

I’d like you to join me by taking the pledge to spread inclusion by going to https://www.spreadtheword.global/ or you can go to https://pledgeforinclusion.org/. The whole point of this is not only to embrace our abilities, but I want to make it abundantly clear that we all promote 110% of respect and inclusion. Respecting each other’s differences builds trust, and including each other builds friendships.

I personally think the R-Word is so derogatory and disgusting that it should not even be a word. This word has a negative meaning and it destructively labels other people. Thankfully, I have never been called this disrespectful word by any of my peers. However, I have heard other students at my school use it in a conversation. The use of the R-Word makes me and others feel insulted and offended. The campaign, Spread The Word To End The Word, plays an extremely crucial role in the assistance of shaping our society’s perspective, as well as embracing other’s differences and respect. We as a society know what language is considered as expected or unexpected. We know how to correct our false perceptions on outlandish ideas of people with disabilities. We also know what is true or false. Let me tell you something…just because someone looks or acts differently than you, does not mean that they are any less than you. A person’s label does not define their personality or character. We are all created uniquely, and each and every one of us possesses special gifts. I highly encourage you to stop labeling. I’d like you to join me by taking the pledge to abolish the use of the R-Word by going to https://www.spreadtheword.global/ or you can go to https://pledgeforinclusion.org/. The whole point of this is not only to embrace our abilities, but I want to make it abundantly clear that we all promote 110% of respect and inclusion. Respecting each other’s differences builds trust, and including each other builds friendships.

--

--

Katie Brydon
The Playbook

Director of Programs for Best Buddies International