I Will Not Be Defined by a Word

Katie Brydon
The Playbook
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2018

A Testimony by Sam Piazza, Global Ambassador for Best Buddies International. Sam is an executive board member of the University of South Florida Best Buddies chapter, an amazing self-advocate, and a friend.

Sam Piazza sharing his story at the Best Buddies Challenge in Hyannis Port, May 2017

Please don’t call me “retard.” That word does not define me for who I am.

People like me have amazing gifts and abilities. We are good friends, work hard, and we are leaders.

I don’t understand why anyone wants to limit me. I want you to listen to me. To really hear me today!

I am a cool person. I have the same dreams and goals just like you. My name is Sam and I was born with Down syndrome. I’m 27 years old.

Growing up, I have been hearing the R word so many times but Best Buddies changed all of that.

I want to be accepted for my abilities. I want you to see me as a friend. I want you to see me as a hard worker.

My manager says I am one of his best employees.

Today, I am a leader helping to change the world. I can work hard, earn a paycheck and be myself.

See me for my abilities and who I am. The “R” word does not define me.

If you have a story, video, photo, poem, essay, guide, dance, (or anything else) to share with the world, follow the three easy steps in this link or publish your story on Medium and email it to spalumbo@specialolympics.org. If you prefer, you could also put your story into a word document, let us know whether you would like it published under your name or anonymously, and email it to spalumbo@specialolympics.org.

Pledge your support to end the R-Word here.

--

--

Katie Brydon
The Playbook

Director of Programs for Best Buddies International