Innovators of the Week: Jorge and Francisco

Special Olympics Global Youth
The Playbook
Published in
5 min readAug 15, 2019

The following post was written by Jorge and Francisco, two Special Olympics youth leaders from Mexico. The pair make it their mission to strengthen inclusion in their community. Check out how they #innovateforinclusion!

Jorge: I am very happy to be part of Special Olympics Mexico. Apart from the opportunity to play soccer, involvement in Special Olympics taught me to be more personable with all my teammates and get to know other athletes from different places. I have been able to make many new friends through this experience. When our teacher told us that we would have to go to schools to talk about Special Olympics, I was a little scared and feared I would mess up. At the first school, I was so encouraged that I felt I could continue to do this at the other schools.

I am proud to say I have traveled far to meet new colleagues with and without disabilities to spread the message of inclusion. I am very happy about the achievements I have experienced through Special Olympics Mexico, along with the achievements of my colleagues and people from these schools I have visited. I am also happy to tell people what Special Olympics is all about. In a few words, I mention that it is a very large organization worldwide and that it is very nice to belong to. I explain that you can achieve many things within sports and that you get the opportunity to travel and meet new people. I always invite new people to join the movement. The best thing that has happened to me through this project is that it has helped me improve my own life.

Francisco: I am thankful for the opportunity to be part of Special Olympics Mexico and for the chance to lead athletes. We have met many people and because of our talks, many people have been interested in joining the Special Olympics movement. I have had great experiences talking about the impact of the organization on youth and the power of the movement. Little by little, we are seeing more people spread the message of the movement and are seeing what the movement is all about. People are very excited to join the movement and start spreading the mission. Sometimes after our talks, parents ask us where we are located and what time we train. Then they ask how soon their child can participate. I feel very grateful for this opportunity to meet other people, educate others about Special Olympics, and watch families gain excitement for their children’s involvement in the organization. With this project, I also learned that I want to continue to be involved with Special Olympics athletes who I have learned so much from.

The 2018–2019 Special Olympics Youth Innovation Grant initiative is supported through partnerships with Hasbro, Inc., The Samuel Family Foundation, the Office of Special Education Programs at the United States Department of Education, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation, the Kantar Group, the Microsoft Corporation, Lane Global Youth Leadership, and the Lions Clubs International Foundation. Learn more about these inspiring projects at SpecialOlympicsGlobalYouthProjects.org.

Innovadores de la Semana: Jorge y Francisco

El siguiente artículo fue escrito por Jorge y Francisco, dos jóvenes líderes de Olimpiadas Especiales México. El dúo ha tomado como misión fortalecer la inclusión en su comunidad. ¡Ven y conoce como ellos #innovanporlainclusión!

Jorge: Estoy muy contento de ser parte de Olimpiadas Especiales México. Aparte de la oportunidad de jugar fútbol, estar involucrad con Olimpiadas Especiales me enseñó a ser más agradable con mis compañeros de equipo a conocer a otros atletas de todas partes del mundo. He podido hacer muchos amigos nuevos a través de esta experiencia. Cuando nuestro profesor nos dijo que tendríamos que ir a escuelas para hablar de Olimpiadas Especiales, me dio un poco de miedo y temía meter la pata. En la primera escuela, me animaron tanto que sentí que podía continuar haciéndolo en otras escuelas.

Me enorgullece decir que he viajado lejos para conocer a colegas nuevos, con y sin discapacidad intelectual, para difundir el mensaje de inclusión. Estoy súper feliz de los logros que he alcanzado a través de Olimpiadas Especiales México, junto a los triunfos de mis colegas y personas de las escuelas que visité. También me encanta contarle a la gente qué es Olimpiadas Especiales. En pocas palabras, yo les digo que es una organización muy grande e internacional a la cuál es muy bonito pertenecer. Yo les explico que puedes lograr muchas cosas dentro de los deportes y que te dá la oportunidad de viajar y conocer nuevas personas. Siempre invito a la gente a que se nos una. Lo mejor que me ha pasado por medio de este proyecto es que me ayudó a mejorar mi propia vida.

Francisco: Yo estoy agradecido por la oportunidad de formar parte de Olimpiadas Especiales México y por la oportunidad de guiar a los atletas. Hemos conocido a tantas personas y gracias a nuestras charlas, muchos se han interesado en unirse al movimiento de Olimpiadas Especiales. He tenido experiencias maravillosas hablando acerca del impacto de la organización en la juventud y el poder del movimiento. Poco a poco, estamos viendo a más personas compartir el mensaje del movimiento y ver de qué se trata lo que hacemos. La gente está emocionada de unirse y ayudarnos en nuestra misión. A veces, luego de nuestras charlas, los padres nos preguntan en donde estamos ubicados y a qué hora entrenamos. Entonces preguntan qué tan pronto pueden participar sus hijos. Me siento tan agradecido por esta oportunidad para conocer a otras personas, educarlas sobre Olimpiadas Especiales, y ver a las familias emocionarse sobre la participación de sus hijos en la organización. Con este proyecto, también aprendí que quiero seguir involucrado con atletas de Olimpiadas Especiales, de quiénes he aprendido tanto.

La beca de Innovación Juvenil de Olimpiadas Especiales es apoyada gracias a la alianza con Hasbro, Inc., The Samuel Family Foundation, la Oficina de Programas de Educación Especial en el Departamento de Educación de EE.UU., Stavros Niarchos Foundation, Kantar, Microsoft, Lane Global Youth Leaders, y la Fundación de Club de Leones Internacional. Conoce más acerca de estos inspiradores proyectos en SpecialOlympicsGlobalYouthProjects.org.

--

--

Special Olympics Global Youth
The Playbook

The voices of our Special Olympics youth leaders, athletes, and advocates from around the world.