It All Began with One Word

Katie Brydon
The Playbook
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2018

A Testimony by Sue Patton, Best Buddies advocate, activist, and mother

The Patton Family

It all began with one word….“Retard.” That is the first sentence of a speech that my son, Blair, wrote for his Best Buddies Ambassador training. Since then, he has given his speech to several groups to raise awareness of the Spread the Word to End the Word campaign.

Why is it so important to remove this word from our vocabulary? The “R” word is demeaning when used against people. We need to work to RE-EDUCATE individuals about how hurtful the “R” word is, we need to REACT when someone uses the “R” word and RESPOND in a positive way on how to eliminate that word from our vocabulary.

I remember the first time I encountered hearing the “R” word after the Spread the Word to End the Word campaign started. I was at the Best Buddies Leadership Conference with my son and another high school student and we were volunteering as speech coaches. We were on the elevator with a wedding party. Right as the elevator doors opened for the three of us to exit, someone in the wedding party used the “R” word and the elevator doors shut. The three of us looked at each other in bewilderment on what to do and how to react. The boys were ready to race up the stairs and confront the wedding party but we were ill-equipped on how to respond and re-educate at that time.

That was in 2009. Since that time, there has been a global movement on providing education on how to eliminate the “R” word and how to promote inclusion in our society. There are ambassadors who are more than willing to share their stories and ask that you no longer use the “R” word. I keep cards in my purse that explain why we need to eliminate the “R” word from our vocabulary. If I hear someone use the “R” word, I simply hand them a card and ask them to no longer use that word. I’ve been on conference calls with co-workers where the “R” word has been said. After the call, I simply email them and send them a copy of my son’s speech to help re-educate them. To choose RESPECT and inclusion over using the “R” word. I’ve always been met with gratitude for letting them know about how hurtful and demeaning the “R” word can be.

Over the past several years, I’ve seen a shift in the younger generations. I don’t hear that word being used. I see middle school, high school and college students embracing individuals with any kind of differences. I see them stand up to bullies. I see them promoting diversity in their schools and communities. And I am slowly beginning to see that same shift in the older generations. Communities and corporations, large and small, promoting inclusion, acceptance, diversity and respect for everyone, no matter what their differences. The world is beginning to see that everyone has something to offer, no matter what. And that is what it is all about.

It all began with one word… “Retard.” I challenge you to go forward and join the Spread the Word to End the Word campaign. Pledge your support to remove this word from your vocabulary. And embrace inclusion and diversity in your life.

Sue Patton is a mother, activist, and advocate from Pendleton, Indiana.

If you have a story, video, photo, poem, essay, guide, dance, (or anything else) to share with the world, follow the three easy steps in this link or publish your story on Medium and email it to spalumbo@specialolympics.org. If you prefer, you could also put your story into a word document, let us know whether you would like it published under your name or anonymously, and email it to spalumbo@specialolympics.org.

Pledge your support to end the R-Word here.

--

--

Katie Brydon
The Playbook

Director of Programs for Best Buddies International