Leading for Inclusion: Bee

Special Olympics Global Youth
The Playbook
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2019

The following post was written by Bee, 2019 Global Youth Leadership Summit Participant from Hong Kong. Check out her experience at the Summit, and how she plans to#innovateforinclusion in her community!

On the Sunday of the Global Youth Leadership Summit, we went to the ADNEC exhibition center to share information about our projects and watch the games. At the exhibition hall, my Unified Partner and I shared our project poster and an introduction in English about Special Olympics in Macau. When the National Director arrived, our mentor asked for the three of us to use Cantonese to speak. My mentor said I spoke very well. This was the first time I was able to give a speech. I hope I will have another opportunity to make a speech in the future. I will try hard to make it a great speech and impress my mentor.

I would like to thank Special Olympics for inviting me to Abu Dhabi and giving me this opportunity to understand other cultures. During the week, we received Unified Summit t-shirts that other participants could sign. This made me very happy, but I was not happy to leave them after the Summit concluded. I hope we will see each other again soon. After leaving Abu Dhabi, I realized the importance of learning about different cultures — it really opened my eyes. I hope I will have another opportunity like the Global Youth Leadership Summit.

The 2019 Global Youth Leadership Summit was supported through partnerships with The Lane Family, Kantar, the Lions Clubs International Foundation, The Samuel Family Foundation, and the Office of Special Education Programs at the United States Department of Education. Learn more about the other participants of the Global Youth Leadership Summit atsogyls2019ad.org/participants.

--

--

Special Olympics Global Youth
The Playbook

The voices of our Special Olympics youth leaders, athletes, and advocates from around the world.