The New York Giants Snow Bowl!

Katy Sanchez
The Playbook
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2018

Hello, my name is Katy Sanchez and I am a Special Olympics New York athlete ambassador. The sports I play are golf, soccer, floor hockey, basketball, track and field, cycling and I also do triathlons. I have been participating in Special Olympics for 11 years.

When I am not participating in Special Olympics, I still enjoy going to the gym and running to keep in shape and fit. In my spare time, I also blog for the Special Chronicles, which is a nonprofit media platform that gives respect and voice for those with special needs. It was founded in November 2008 by my friend and fellow athlete Daniel Smrokowski.

The Special Olympics Athlete Oath is “Let me win, but if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt” The athlete oath means to me, that I love to be competitive and win. It is okay for me to lose too. I use my quote when I am competing “Win with Joy, lose with grace”. Everyday I am brave because of the changes in my life. Its Also mean that you did your best effort in your competition and you were brave enough to compete at your sport.

I am a NY Giants fan and I have been a fan since I was I was 11 years old. I enjoy going to see them play on the field and especially enjoy the excitement in the air when I go the games. I cheer loud and am proud for them whether I am watching them on the field or on TV.

It has always been a dream of mine to actually play on the field with the NY Giants. So, I was thrilled to be asked to play on the Unified l Flag | Amateur Recreation game on Sunday, March 11st (postponed to March 24 or 25) on the NY Giants field, MetLife Stadium. The event is hosted by the Special Olympics in New Jersey and it is called the New York Giants Snow Bowl, now in its 12th year. The team I will be playing with is called the Green Giants. I hope some of you can make it so you can watch and cheer us on as spectators can get in for free. The more the merrier!

If you have a story, video, photo, poem, essay, guide, dance, (or anything else) to share with the world, follow the three easy steps in this link or publish your story on Medium and email it to dbellows@specialolympics.org. If you prefer, you could also put your story into a word document, let us know whether you would like it published under your name or anonymously, and email it to dbellows@specialolympics.org.

--

--

Katy Sanchez
The Playbook

I am a Special Olympics Athlete, contributier to the Special olympics blog.