Pledge Inclusion

Benjamin Collins
The Playbook
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2019

On March 6, 2019 is the Spread the Word: Inclusion Day. This marks the eleventh year of Spread the Word. This year, we are going global because we are asking people to spread the word “inclusion” all over the world. Inclusion means people should be nice to everyone and shouldn’t be saying mean, hurtful, or cruel words. When you put somebody down, it hurts his or her feelings. It doesn’t matter who you are, you’re still a very important person.

On this day, I encourage you to include others no matter their disability. I include others and educate others how to include me. Every October, it’s Vision Awareness month, and I try to explain what being visually impaired is like to others. I give a presentation to my coworkers on my technology I use on a daily basis, and I try to welcome them to my world and my perspective. In my presentation, I ask everyone to come in the room wearing a blindfold and try to find where to sit in the room. This is very difficult for them, and it gives them an idea of what it’s like for me.

Last year for Spread the Word, I held an event in the Board Room and asked them to take the pledge and sign the banner. We’ll have a similar event and banner this year. There’s a lot of new people in the office, and I can’t wait to show them how to spread the word for inclusion. Pledge to spread inclusion here.

Advocating for myself at Capitol Hill Day

--

--

Benjamin Collins
The Playbook

@SpecialOlympics athlete & employee, bocce man, prankster & spokesperson for the visually impaired.