So Much More than a Word

Katie Brydon
The Playbook
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2018

A Testimony by Jonathan Vargas of Holyoke Community College; Jon is a Best Buddies International Global Ambassador, Advocate, and Friend.

Jon, sharing his speech about inclusion and acceptance to an audience in Moscow, Russia

I have seen numerous times, especially in schools, the “r-word” being used as a way for someone with a disability to be bullied. There was a time when I was on the playground during recess and I was bullied by a group of kids. They would make fun how speak and how I feel uncomfortable in big groups of people. They even called me the “r-word.” That hurt.

My disability shouldn’t be labeled as “the r-word”, especially since it’s used to hurt people, and I am so much more than that word. Having a disability doesn’t make me sad. It is what makes me unique. But people who use the “r-word” do make me sad. This is why we should stop the “r-word,” and spread the word to end the word, because people with disabilities are unique and special in their own way.

If you have a story, video, photo, poem, essay, guide, dance, (or anything else) to share with the world, follow the three easy steps in this link or publish your story on Medium and email it to spalumbo@specialolympics.org. If you prefer, you could also put your story into a word document, let us know whether you would like it published under your name or anonymously, and email it to spalumbo@specialolympics.org.

Pledge your support to end the R-Word here.

--

--

Katie Brydon
The Playbook

Director of Programs for Best Buddies International