Why I Pledge to be the Change

Special Olympics Global Youth
The Playbook
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2019

Written by Samira El Adawy, Special Olympics Egypt Youth Leader

Every story has a beginning. My journey with Special Olympics started the Summer of 2015 when I volunteered for the Special Olympics World Games in Los Angeles — an opportunity that opened the door to opportunities that felt bigger than myself, helped my heart increase in size and my mind in awareness of our society’s basic flaws preventing children with intellectual disabilities from feeling the sense of belonging to our world.

In the different capacities I have been involved with Special Olympics Egypt ever since, I have learned what it means and takes to play an active role in promoting inclusion in our society. Hence why I, Samira El-Adawy, pledge to be the change by Spreading the Word Inclusion to help our current and future generations understand the value of living in an inclusive world where there is no space for bullying and hate, and rather give room for acceptance and a dominant mentality of inclusion for each and everyone, within our society.

I pledge to always be the voice for those who deserve to live happily and to feel supported and loved and have the heart to continue to be part of this global movement making positive change and breaking boundaries all over the world.

--

--

Special Olympics Global Youth
The Playbook

The voices of our Special Olympics youth leaders, athletes, and advocates from around the world.