Ball In

Karl Berry
Spectators
Published in
4 min readOct 20, 2017

Back when Chris and I started Spectators as a podcast we wanted to avoid the main stories. We will happily admit that we can not do what ESPN does. We did not want to provide that content because there is no point in trying to reinvent the wheel. ESPN has the success it does because it does what it does well. Today I am going to go against the grounds that Spectators was founded on to maybe provide a hot take that most of America does not agree with.

Over the past 12 months there has been one man who’s name has dominated the talk of basketball enthusiasts all over the world. The players that come to mind when I say that are KD, Lebron, Steph, Westbrook or Kyrie. All of them have had big storylines over the past year but I’m not interested in talking about them right now. I’m interested in talking about Lavar Ball.

When he first started taking over the media world with his loud mouth and outlandish statements most of the world, including myself, just tried to ignore him and toss it up to a crazed sports parent. We have all had them. The mom or dad who screams at you and your team for the whole game, telling you how to run the show. I love my dad but he was that guy. I played soccer for 14 years and my dad tried to coach me from the fans sideline. Maybe if my dad were Landon Donovan I would take his advice but as a man that had never played soccer it was just extra noise I did not need during the game.

*As a side note, if your parent does this, just talk to them about it. Ask your parent to just support you and let the coaches do the coaching. I did it and it worked.

In the past couple of months, Lavar Ball and the rest of the Ball clan launched their own reality television show. Its name plays on the popular 1970’s show, “All in the Family” with the clever title, “Ball in the Family.” It is shot in the same format that a Keeping Up With the Kardashians or Real Housewives of LA have made so popular. It chronicals the live of the Ball family and follows the loose line of Lonzo going to the NBA. I won’t ruin the show because if you want to watch it, you should get the opportunity to form your own opinion without my specific bias’s. If you want a specific recap, I can absolutely do that. Just let me know.

I will say, I do like the show. I started watching it for a couple, i’ll be it lame, reasons. It streams on Facebook Watch so it was free to me, and it was sport media, and I am very intrigued with all types of sport media. They show portrays a different light on the Ball family than traditional media does. It still shows Lavar in the light that we have seen him in, but it also gives the behind the scenes. He doesn’t perform for the camera’s 24/7 like he does when ESPN is around. You get to see him as a normal father who loves his family and is willing to do anything in the world for them. The show also shines a light on Lavar’s wife, Tina, and her recent medical struggles. Lonzo is definitely the most featured son while Melo and Gelo get their fair share of the spotlight.

The show has changed how I see Lavar and I am sure that is the producer’s intent. I’m also sure that I am not seeing the 100% truth. This is meant to be an entertainment show and thus the truth may be stretched. It does do a lot for Lavar’s positive image though. Whether it be Lavar as a businessman, Lavar as a Father, Lavar as a Husband, or Lavar as a Caretaker, it makes him seem more normal. I’ll also be a Lonzo fan this season. I was hesitant at first because of his father but his love for the game won me over. Not saying I’ll like the Lakers, cause I won’t, but I’d like to see Lonzo do well.

I recommend you check it out. Give it a couple episodes. It has its own reality TV cheesiness to it but there is a message underneath it. I’ll let you find that message for yourself.

--

--

Karl Berry
Spectators

Sport Administration Student at Samford University and Spectators co-creator with Chris Price