Moving Spectral Reflectance to Substack

A place for developers, researchers and enthusiasts in the field of Earth Observation!

Akis Karagiannis
Spectral Reflectance
3 min readSep 4, 2023

--

TL;DR

  • Moving Spectral Reflectance to Substack!
  • Plans for expanding Spectral Reflectance into an EO Hub featuring content dedicated to developers, researchers and enthusiasts in the field of Earth Observation.

Why the move?

There are a few key drivers behind this move, and I want to share them with complete transparency:

  • Community Alignment: Several popular Earth Observation Newsletters (such as Robin Cole’s satellite-image-deep-learning, Aravind’s TerraWatch Space Insights and Rafaela’s Remote Sensing News) have chosen Substack as their platform of choice. Joining the platform which the community has adopted felt like the right step forward.
  • Tools for Expansion: Substack provides robust tools that would enable me to expand the offerings of Spectral Reflectance in ways that were not possible before. These tools enable better content promotion and seamless organization of content under free and paid subscriptions.

Looking back…

It’s been almost a year since I published the first Spectral Reflectance Newsletter!!!

Originally, the idea was to put together items that reach my inbox and turn them into a newsletter; news, tutorials and learning resources on EO all in one place on a weekly basis!
That’s how Spectral Reflectance was born!

Apart from the weekly newsletter, I’ve published a few articles — with the most recent and in-depth being this one on Analysis-Ready-Data.

Re-launch — The Spectral Reflectance “EO-Hub”

In this re-launch, I’m planning to expand Spectral Reflectance into an EO-Hub; focused on developers, researchers and enthusiasts of EO.
This will include advanced tutorials, reviews and highlights of research paper and in-depth articles.

I am not sure how this will turn out, but I hope it will serve as a motivation for me to write more content, apart from the newsletter…

While my initial goal didn’t revolve much around monetization, after a few months of publishing the weekly newsletter, I enrolled in Medium’s Partner Program; this served as an extra motivation to keep going…

Reflecting on the interactions I’ve had and the individuals who reached out since the inception of Spectral Reflectance had me considering its monetization.

That being said, I’m a big supporter of contributing to the community; sharing knowledge, engaging with readers, getting feedback and giving back to the community are important principals.

There will always be content available to all; including the weekly newsletter! :)

Come join me!

Feel free to check out Spectral Reflectance on Substack. I have already migrated everything originally published on Medium!
Subscribe so you don’t miss out on all the EO content that you’ll be getting there soon!

--

--

Akis Karagiannis
Spectral Reflectance

Just a Machine Learning Engineer trying to fill the gap between Machine Learning and Earth Observation… one epoch at a time! blinq.me/tqhOlnGsm9rg