How to Deliver your speech

Yue Zhang
Speech in public
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2017
  • Memorize

You do not have to bring a whole script to your speech but only a piece of paper where you can write down the main ideas that you are going to say. I usually bring a sticky note or note cards but most of the time I just memorize my main points in my mind and bring nothing to the speech. Remember that the notes are just there to help you present so do not read off the script. If you just read your scripts, it is not called a “speech”.

  • Be confident

Remember why you choose the topic — -because you are familiar with it! Tell yourself that you are the only one that know this topic and you are telling it to your audience.

Speak loud so that everyone can hear you. I used to be very shy in front of others and I could not speak in front of a lot of people. The speech I did back in middle school, I could barely hear my own voice. My classmates kept asked me if I could speak up, but I was too scared to speak louder in front of people.

Recruit your body. Don’t stand stiff and give a speech like a robot. Walk around and have a little bit interaction with your audience. Dress up and let your audience know that you are prepared and take it serious. (Anderson, 2016)

The most important thing is : Do what comes naturally and do it in your own way !

  • Choose the appropriate visual tool

Slides? Videos? Pictures? Or just notes ? You will find a way to present yourself.

If it is about a tourist location, you might want to use more images.

If it is about how to play a song using violin, you might want to use videos.

It depends on the topic you choose. For example, I will do a workshop on Monday about how to get more involved on campus. I just need some note cards and some pictures about what did before.

Reference :

Anderson, Chris, 1957 January 14. (2016). TED talks: The official TED guide to public speaking. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

--

--