My Preparation

Yue Zhang
Speech in public
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2017

I have a tiny informal speech this afternoon as student engagement ambassador and the topic is about getting involved at UB. According to my preparing steps, I wrote down my fears and what I expected the outcomes.

I’m a little bit nervous because this is the first workshop that I co-facilitate as a student engagement ambassador. We did received training to help our staff members in student engagement office.

Here is a note card that I prepared for this small presentation

I put all the main ideas that I am going to talk about on this piece of paper. Since this is just a “talk about your experiences” part I’m not plan to bring this paper with me as a script during the speech. I will just say whatever comes to my mind instead of talking of each activity I have done in order.

I rehearsed several times and talked to my supervisors what I need to say to the students that will come to our workshop. This workshop is aiming to help students to get more involved on campus and we are planning to introduce the school activities as well as how they can get involved and where to find those activities.

I saw Justin mentioned about how to present in his blog about public speaking, which I totally agree with:

“You created your speech, you practiced endlessly, now it is time for the crucial part, delivering the speech. Do not panic, because believe it or not, if you successfully did the first two parts, you are ready to present to your audience”

The first thing can be different to start, but after that and after you are used to it, it will be and will get better and easier.

I am pretty sure after they knew how much I did in my freshman year, they want to get more involved, too.

--

--