My Presentation Today

Yue Zhang
Speech in public
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2017

I just did my speech and it went well, although I did not go over every single thing I wrote down. I shared some of my experiences of getting involved on campus, which including my working experiences as international admission ambassador and welcome weekend leader and my internship as student engagement ambassador as well as the clubs I joined. Moreover, I talked about my volunteer experiences on campus and in the WNY area.

They seemed really interested in the volunteer experiences in the community. It felt strange at first because I was the audience here listening to other students talking about their experiences with getting involved at UB last year, but now I am the one who is standing here to share what I have done in the past year.

During the presentation, I could feel my heartbeat like a car on highway. I was afraid that what if I forgot what I was going to say and what if they could not understand me. I left out something because I did not remember back then under too much nervousness but the students were really respectful and listened to me carefully the entire time. I admit that I did not spend too much time preparing this speech, which I should. I tried to talk to the students advance to create a friend-like conversation so that I will not be as nervous.

Rehearsals are very important and it takes time to go through your presentation over and over again to make sure that there is no major mistakes in the rehearsal or during the real speech.

I think what Muir talked about in her blog about how to test your speech is really useful. You never know what you really need to improve until you actually practice it because practice is an excellent way to know what you are not capable of doing or what you are not ready for.

Reference

Muir M. ( June 06,2017) Prepare for Success: Pressure Test Your Presentation Retrieved from https://www.mandel.com/blog/prepare-for-success-pressure-test-your-presentation

--

--