Creating an Interactive eBook

Using iBooks Author to create an enhanced ePub file

Spencer Wright
Spencer Wright Design
3 min readOct 12, 2019

--

My cover for The Great Gatsby

In 2019 both print and digital publications occupy important spaces in the world of content. Both mediums offer unique benefits. While a lot of people enjoy relaxing with a physical book, others like the portability and extra features that can come from an ebook. I think a ebook should take advantage of the features and options unique to its specific medium offer. ePub 3 is a great format that allows you to add interactive elements to an ebook.

I went through the process of creating an ebook focusing on trying to enhance the readers experience. For this process I decided to use the first few chapters of The Great Gatsby by F. Scott F Fitzgerald. I created the eBook in Apple’s iBooks Author

Features

One of the advantages of the ePub 3 file format is that it supports different interactive content. For my project I focused on a few including pop ups, html widgets, and a image gallery.

Pop ups

I tried to use pop ups to give the reader more context into the book. I used a location pop up that showed a map to give the reader some sense of the different locations where the book takes place .

I also found some really cool sketches used for costume design in the 2013 The Great Gatsby movie. I included these in a pop up to give the reader more visuals of the character.

Hype Animations

In Hype 4 you can create html widgets that will import directly into iBook Author. I animated two of the major symbolic events in the book. The eyes of TJ Eckleburg, and Gatsby reaching out towards the green light.

I think even simple animations are a good way to make a book a little more immersive.

Gallery

Gallery showing scenes from the movie

I’m a big fan on Baz Luhrmann’s 2013 film adaptation of The Great Gatsby. So I thought it would be cool to incorporate some scenes from the movie into the book. I created a gallery that shows a shot from the movie and tells what chapter of the book it is from.

Testing

Testing on an iPad showed some subtle errors that I didn’t notice in iBooks Author.One of my hype animations was so subtle is was really hard to notice it. I adjusted the length and opacity of the animation and it worked a lot better.

Conclusion

Through this process, I learned the essentials of iBooks Author. I also learned more about some different ways you can try and enhance a book through interactive features.

--

--