Spero in Dialogue

Stephen Wemple
Spero Ventures
Published in
2 min readJun 28, 2024

--

6/24–6/28

Each week, we like to share links, books, movies, and content that the team found interesting. Hopefully it helps the world get to know us a little better, and maybe some interesting patterns will emerge.

Shripriya Mahesh

The world is drowning in plastic. (ProPublica)

A new type of plastic recycling that doesn’t work. An unfortunate read. Still rooting for plastic-eating bacteria.

Marc Tarpenning

How generative AI could reinvent what it means to play (MIT Technology Review)

I have recently started playing Baldur’s Gate 3, the first RPG I’ve played in at least a decade. The graphics and game play are great, but despite the thousands upon thousands lines of pre-packaged dialog, the non-player characters (NPCs) struck me as in desperate need of a LLM upgrade. Apparently, that’s a thing.

Sara Eshelman

Would You Clone Your Dog (New Yorker)

I remember a scene toward the end of Errol Morris’s 2010 film, Tabloid, about a woman traveling to Korea to have her dog cloned. I don’t remember anything about that movie, except the dog cloning part. I guess I’ve been living under a pet cloning rock since then because this is apparently now someone anyone can just do with a pencil eraser-sized skin sample and $50,000. Seems very sci fi, and fairly disturbing when they describe how it works.

Stephen Wemple

Perplexity

I hadn’t used it in a few weeks and maybe I just didn’t catch the progress but I started using it again this week and its really gotten good at structuring its responses. I thought this search was a great example. It also made me reflect a bit on how google search results have shaped the way I think and how AI + tools like Perplexity will change that.

--

--