stephanie crocker
Spice Holler Farm
Published in
5 min readMar 21, 2020

--

I am so glad I got such a strong start in January because now things are really starting to ramp up. Each week my planting calendar is booked with an increasing number of plants to start. Each day is spent taking inventory on the seeds I have to make sure I have the ones I want to grow in time for planting. My shelf of seeding starts will soon be full. And spring is pricking up its’ ears a tad earlier this year which accelerates my pace; however it also means I can plant some of my starts into the field. I suppose if the chill of winter returns, I can always cover these cool season crops with fleece and hope for the best.

Artifacts from the previous life of this farm

In a lot of cases I’m just guessing on planting times, or perhaps “trusting my intuition” is the nicer way to say it. I’ve let go of my fear of failure and adopted a yogic mindset to farming, letting myself fully explore the boundaries of the present moment. I keep reminding myself that failure is just an opportunity to make a correction.

Just like an iceberg, there’s more unseen than seen.

I’m learning something new with every seed I plant. So far, I’ve realized that herbs seem to be a greater challenge for me which does make me a little nervous because that is what I primarily want to grow.

I’ve also found information about growing herbs can be quite vague, and most instructions point to “early spring” which doesn’t speak to my particular climate zone nestled in the mountains on a North facing slope. Some herbs require light to germinate, but it’s not always mentioned on the packets. Most herb seeds are really really small which makes it difficult to cover them with an equal depth of soil. Blah, blah, blah. But like many things, there is no substitute for experience, which simply takes time.

Going well

However, just to relieve a little bit of pressure, I am purchasing certain perennial crops as professional starts from two local greenhouses. This seems to make sense as I believe a good foundation is important in this business. If I learned one thing from owning a bakery, that is my time is valuable, and money has a way of coming back. I still really enjoy the process of starting plants from seed so I will continue to try new methods to improve my craft.

Other than that, I seem to be constantly making trips to the garden supply store to pick up seed flats, starting soil and more seed varieties and tools. I’m making friends with the garden store staff to glean as much information as possible to ensure I’m on track for farming in my zone. I’m happy to be working with local seed supply companies for both the socially responsible reason to support the local economy, but also for access to seeds that may have a better chance in my local climate.

I am starting to feel local here, and that feels very good.

Just a local chick

And with every spare moment, I’m listening to farmer’s podcasts and videos. Things are starting to make sense and my confidence is building. I was fortunate to have a very productive meeting with my NC State Farm Extension agent who provided great insights on farming in our region and how to maximize my land for the crops I’m planning to grow. Her visit to the farm was very helpful, and I look forward to utilizing this amazing local resource as I grow and develop my farm into a viable business.

Not to forget the time I’m also spending out in the field. For 2020, I’m getting shrubby. I’m cultivating areas around the field with native shrubs and forest plants to attract beneficial insects and birds. Not only will these plants provide a good defense system for my crops, they will also add to the beauty and enjoyment of my workspace. And that matters.

Wet but happy

What I find interesting is that last year, I put out bird seed in various feeders and nothing was ever touched, but this year, the birds are very actively using the feeders which is a good sign.

Of course in honor of our name, Spice Holler, I’ve made a special effort to plant spice bush shrubs. I had found it odd that no locals seem to know why our holler is called Spice Cove on Google Maps, not even our neighbor, whose family has owned the property almost 75 years. A trip to the library did reveal the creek on the Eastern side of the field is named “Spice Branch”. Also, on the other side of the mountain, there is a Spice Cove Road. We’ll just see if we can restore the population of spice bush to our little holler.

I’m also planting Carolina allspice, black cohosh, elderberry, kiwi, more blueberry bushes, and at least one more fig tree. I suppose part of this is that we will be simultaneously farming for ourselves and our business.

Winter sunsets

Although the locals say we skipped winter, we have had a few snow events and in my opinion, it’s been quite cold this past season, but that might just be me adapting to this new climate. Through winter, I have continued to hike to build strength for the coming season, and my time spent in the woods has allowed some good time to observe and reflect. I have come to particularly enjoy watching water trickle down an ice covered bluff and watching melting icicles drop even though it’s still too cold for my frozen fingers and toes.

Our chickens don’t seem to mind the cold

Next month will be March and spring will be just around the corner. I cannot think of a better way to spend my time rebuilding my soil and watching the chickens run wild in the holler.

--

--