Sometimes, it’s the small things…like Newcastle Brown

Scott Vitale
Spigot Labs
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2018

Talk to any founder and you’ll find a mixture of excitement and struggle. Starting a business is an absolute rollercoaster. Some of it is public and visible. Some of it is completely below the surface; an iceberg of hopes, dreams, failure, and fear.

For me, success has come in small bites. Far from the Unicorn mythology of Silicon Valley, I’m building my beer-enthusiast Zebra one stripe at a time. Sometimes these small bites, these individual stripes, these seemingly imperceptible advancements are what drive me forward the most.

And that brings us to James:

F

I had the pleasure of chatting with James a few weeks back on the Event Industry News podcast, and it was really a fantastic time. I have no doubt that we’d be sharing that Newcastle Brown if we were closer than the 4,625 miles (7536.558 km) from Denver to London.

So here’s the thing. 15 years ago as a university senior, I developed a love of Newcastle Brown. It was my first “craft” beer. Fast forward to today, and that love of craft beer has driven me to build a company that helps people make that same long-lasting connection that I made 15 years ago. It’s a story that resonated with James enough for him to tweet out this [amazing] photo.

I can’t tell you how rewarding it is for me to make a new friend across the pond, and then to see his enthusiasm about what we’re building. James talks to new companies all the time, but it turns out that not all of them love Newcastle Brown.

James, thanks for helping me add a stripe to this Zebra, and cheers!

--

--

Scott Vitale
Spigot Labs

@SpigotLabs founder, full stack software developer, aspiring cyclist, beer drinking Coloradan