A Frigid Awakening

Tyler Egan
Spill Them Beans
3 min readJan 20, 2024

--

I make my way over to the cafe, after an early morning class. I was up late last night, as I was working the closing shift. On my way over icy gusts of wind slapped me in the face. My face had a rosy hue, and I was blowing into my hands for warmth. I walked into the doors and rubbed my hands together. To my left was the case of food, as I peered over the options with glassy eyes. I look through the case to see my options and take a look at the muffin section. There was blueberry, double chocolate, and cranberry orange. The double chocolate was out of the question for me as that rich velvety texture was too much for me to handle in the morning. I wanted something lighter so I went on to get a cranberry orange muffin. The crystallized sugar on top was appealing, and it was reflected in the case. I then browsed over the breakfast items. So early in the morning, I was not extremely hungry. I could barely think as it was and was not looking to eat a big meal. I decided not to get anything as my stomach was uneasy. I am not an avid coffee consumer, so I figured since it was cold outside I would get a chai tea to settle my nerves. I waited by the register and received my items in a brief time. It was quite empty in the cafe, and there were only students sitting at the tables. All of them looked half awake, fighting to gain consciousness. The chai tea was extremely hot as the steam arose from it. I held it firmly as it warmed up my hands, which were red from the icy winds. I began to eat my muffin, which was light and airy. Its citrusy flavors were just the thing I needed. It settled my stomach quite quickly as the burning sensation I felt earlier had dissipated. Enough time had passed and I was able to take the first sips of my tea. Instantly it felt like I was sipping on the energy of a flame. Its warmth flowed through my chest and I felt like I had just gained life itself. I felt warm to the core. I could feel the gears moving as if the tea was the fuel for a machine. My grogginess slowly lifted, and I felt like I had finally become whole. I became aware of myself and the things around me, as the veil of exhaustion was no more. It was the same as someone turning on the lights. I went on to go outside and felt unaffected by the icy winds. I marveled at the frozen fountain right outside the door and stared up at the sun. The light pierced my eyes as they finally felt as if they were open. No longer was I half dead, and could see myself being able to get through the day.

Who: A Unawakened Student

Where: Butterfly Cafe, High Point University

When: An Icy Wednesday Morning

What I’m Drinking: Chai Tea

<a href=”https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/mug-hot-coffee-woolen-knitting-windowsill-against-snow-landscape-from-outside_83344736.htm#query=cold%20morning&position=1&from_view=keyword&track=ais&uuid=462d4c09-a085-49cf-b54c-14836ed7e3a2">Image by chandlervid85</a> on Freepik

--

--