Bagels in the Bakery

Anna DeBiasi
Spill Them Beans
3 min readAug 31, 2023

--

It is a warm Sunday morning around 11:40am. I am sitting in the Great Day Bakery in the R.G. Wanek Center. I love doing my homework and studying for tests in this space. I find myself to be the most productive when I am studying in the Bakery. I sit down and get ready to work on my assignments. I am sitting in a booth at a circle table. I love working around this area because my back is against the window and I am able to observe the people around me.

As I get my planner out, my stomach starts to grumble. I realized that I didn’t eat anything this morning! I open my phone and pull up a super convenient app called “Mobile Ordering — High Point University”. All I have to do is pick the restaurant on campus I want to order food from and they make it and my food will be ready in at least 10 or 15 minutes. I go to the section called “Great Day Bakery” and select the plain bagel option, toasted, with extra butter. I wait approximately 9 minutes and my bagel is ready. I completely forget about doing my assignments that I just dive right into this bagel. It is pretty crunchy on the outside and warm and filled with butter on the inside. I have my bottle of water to wash it down too. I do not enjoy coffee. I don’t like the bitter taste. Clearly, just from my bagel order, you can tell I am a very picky eater. This bagel really jumpstarts all my early mornings. Once I eat my entire bagel, I am feeling very satisfied. I get back to my planner to see what else I need to complete for the day.

As I am looking through my planner and sifting through my folder of syllabi, I get distracted. I notice there is a cluster of what looks like 2 girls and 3 boys, walking with purpose. I am so intrigued by where they are going and what they are talking about that I completely forget about looking at the syllabi in my folder. I notice that the two girls go to the mobile ordering section of the bakery to pick up their orders. From where I am sitting, I cannot see where the boys went. I find myself visibly looking around for them as if I am waiting for them to bring me a present. I see the girls grab a table about 75 feet away from me. They sit a small talk for about a minute and a half before the boys come back from wherever they were. It seems like the girls were wondering where the boys had gone also. The blonde girl says, “Where were you both at?” And then the tallest of the three boys said, “Just the bathroom calm down”. I realized I should stop listening and focus on my assignments.

“Where were we?” I ask myself. Back to my syllabi. I take a look at the syllabus for my American Literature II class. Unfortunately, just by looking at it I feel stressed. I have to read sections 28 through 52 of a poem. This poem is extremely long. Once I am done reading the poem, I am supposed to answer a discussion question for class the next day. I get started on reading the poems when I see another interesting group of people walk in. I have fallen to my weakness of people watching. I observe their every move. I need to focus on completing my assignments but realize that I enjoy people watching more than reading poems that I have a hard time understanding.

BAGEL BRANDS:

Who: Myself, an unfocused hungry girl

Where: R.G. Wanek Center — The Great Day Bakery

When: Sunday morning right after Derby Day

What I am drinking: WATER (stay hydrated)

(Word count: 617)

--

--