Hello Fall Coffee Flavors

Reece Watson
Spill Them Beans
3 min readAug 30, 2023

--

Today I decided to observe at a campus coffee shop. It’s Monday so students and faculty are seeming to drag themself to the coffee shop. I see tired faces. Particularly sitting on the inside of the coffee shop are two girls at a table, typing away and glancing at what seems to be a calendar. I wonder how much work they have to do in the second week of class? I wonder what their major is. I sat inside the coffee shop for quite some time and just observed them working. They would chat every now and then but stay on task with their work. I moved outside, watching the students grab their coffee and continue walking.

Writing on this makes me more curious than I normally am, I am not much of a people watcher. Now that I have to observe people, I understand why people do it. I am curious about where these students are going or what makes them need a coffee. I know I needed one this cloudy Monday morning. People come and go from the coffee shop more than I would imagine if this coffee shop wasn’t on campus.

Something that I see here that I wouldn’t see at another coffee shop are High Point University lawn care people. They are mowing next to the coffee shop and cleaning one of the many fountains on campus. Although some people see this as an interruption of their peace, I see it as an opportunity for me to watch them and be grateful for what they do to take care of our campus. Two guys are inside the fountain with brushes cleaning the walls of the fountain, they chat but also stay on task. This reminds me of the girls inside the coffee shop who I can still see through the window. They are still sipping their coffees, typing away, and occasionally chatting with one another. There’s also a girl sitting outside as well, she isn’t working on her computer much like everyone else at the coffee shop. She is sitting on her phone, with her airpods in, sipping her coffee. After she finished her coffee, she got up and walked along her way. Maybe she had time to kill or maybe she just simply wanted to sit outside and enjoy her coffee. Most of my time at the coffee shop has been not busy, students are in class during this time period, but a girl sat down on the phone. She is sitting and talking, telling whoever is on the other end of the call that she was waiting on her coffee. I find myself on the phone a lot when I am walking on campus, it’s a good time to talk to people I think, personally. She didn’t even take her bookbag off of her back to sit down, probably because she is just waiting on her coffee.

I realized while watching people in the coffee shop, everyone is so different. For some people this may be routine, for someone else maybe they just wanted to try a new coffee, for the lawn guys they just are simply, mowing the lawn.

Who: A tired student.

Where: Cottrell Starbucks, High Point University, High Point, NC

When: A Monday around lunchtime.

What I’m drinking: An iced almond honey espresso

--

--