Giana D'Annunzio
Spill Them Beans
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2024

--

Coffee shops are a great place for people to get out of the house and socialize, which is why they have become so popular. There are several reasons why we go to coffee shops. For some to relax, and for others to work. But one of the main reasons is because we like coffee. As I write this at twelve pm from the 83 Custom Coffee shop in High Point North Carolina, I will be sipping from my water bottle and watching these people do their own thing because I don’t drink coffee. Being a sophomore in college, I understand how strange that could be. Most college students seem to survive on coffee.

83 Custom Coffee is a small cozy coffee shop that has a warm and inviting scenery. This coffee shop makes it a very welcoming place to spend the entire day working, catching up with friends, or just relaxing and taking in the scenery. It is a location where I can simply relax and get some work done. With my back to the wall, I sit here with some friends so I can see everyone and everything. But before we got to this table, we walked into the shop with every table taken until a nice young man, who was wearing all black was sitting alone, asked my friends and me if we wanted to sit here at his table. I did not mind doing this because I always loved people watching.

Next to us were a few other girls who also looked like college students with laptops and coffees. On the other side of the room there were more adults. Some people sat down to enjoy their cup of coffee, while others were busy doing their own thing, rarely smiling or glancing at one another. I realized how laid back everyone is here. Everyone is at ease with themselves and is just sitting here while the breeze goes through the door as customers come and go.

Along with being at ease, the baristas were so welcoming and friendly. I felt very welcome as I walked through the door. They greeted my friends and I with a big smile on their faces and even when other people were hesitant about what to order. For example, when a first-time customer walked in and did not know what to order, the barista was very helpful to her and asked her if she wanted something more or less sweet. The girl replied by saying, “More sweet”, so the barista gave her more of the sweeter coffee options. She ended up getting a cinnamon toast crunch coffee.

Having a coffee and watching people inside a coffee shop is definitely one of the purest experiences ever. However, it happens really quickly. Perhaps it’s the only time you get to see these people for who they really are. People relax best in places they are comfortable in. We notice other people going about their daily lives and routines as we watch them. Small moments that pass by quickly always result in greater experiences.

Who: A college sophomore

Where: 83 Custom Coffee

When: Noon on a Tuesday

What I’m drinking: Water

--

--