People Watching In Starbucks

Jackson Marchese
Spill Them Beans
3 min readJan 22, 2024

--

Adobe Stock Photo

I enter Cotrell and head right for the Starbucks. I like to sit in the corner by the plane seats. It makes me feel as though I am traveling, which is nice. I open up my laptop and start to people watch. It is packed which makes sense due to the fact that half of my generation cannot function without their daily coffee. I sit patiently as people are picking up their drinks in a hurry so they can make it on time for their next class. A few minutes pass and the rush starts to die down. Overall everybody seems to be in not only a good mood but a busy mood. People are rushing to get their items and leave. After a lot of people left there were only some people.

After 10 minutes there are only a few people sitting in the Starbucks. I know a few of them. The two I focused on for a little bit was my fraternity brother and his girlfriend. Ever since I have known him they spend every second of every single day together. You simply cannot separate them. It was nice to see them just talking and laughing with each other. They were both studying for their law classes. Both of their goals are to become lawyers for top tier law firms in New York. They just sat there and talked while studying what looked to be like something having to do with law classes.

About 5 feet from me was a girl ranting to one of her friends. Due to their privacy I will not share what she was ranting about but she was clearly upset with her boyfriend. She kept going on and on about how she was right and he was clearly wrong. Her friend sat there clearly annoyed and was simply agreeing with her to get her to be quiet. It was painful to watch due to the fact that she was almost tearing up and very emotional. Her friend was great because she just sat there and listened to everything she had to say in order to comfort her.

The last two people who were seated were parents of a prospective student that may attend High Point University. They went on and on about how nice of a campus it was and how they were loving the idea of their child to attend. The mother was explaining to the father that all of their hard work was paying off in terms of raising their child. They were both so proud of how much the kid had accomplished and how their grades and extracurricular activities allowed them to get admitted to such a nice school. It was nice to hear them speak so highly of themselves and their child. I sat and pondered and realized that my parents most likely had the same sort of conversation when they were touring the school that I may have attended at the time.

About Them Beans

Who: A student observing during the day

Where: Cotrell Starbucks, High Point University

When: Mid day on a Monday

What I’m Drinking: Water

--

--