Spilling Them Beans in 83 Custom Coffee

Emerson Hansen
Spill Them Beans
3 min readJan 19, 2024

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I’m sitting in a coffee shop this morning. I love coffee but it hasn’t always been that way. I have always wanted to be though. I grew up watching my parents have a cup every morning, so naturally, I began to associate coffee with sophistication and adulthood. Maybe that’s why I love coffee shops so much. The atmosphere makes me feel like the sophisticated version of myself that little Emerson always wanted to be. The name of the coffee shop is called 83 Custom Coffee. It’s a tiny but adorable destination just a few minutes off High Point’s campus. The coffee is incredible and the vibes are unmatched. You may be wondering why I didn’t just go to one of the various coffee shops on the campus of my university. Is there something wrong with them? Are the workers rude? The answer to both of these questions is “Of course not”! I really enjoy the dining options we have at HPU, but sometimes I need to get off campus and have a change of scenery. While at 83 Custom Coffee, I have spent some time doing homework, preparing for the week ahead, and observing those around me, all while sipping on an iced cookie butter latte with almond milk.

I am with two of my friends, who are also current HPU students. Their names are Caroline and Cassidy, and like me, they are here to be productive. One of the ways I like to be productive is to put on my headphones, listen to my favorite music, and grind out some work. But, today, over the sound of my own music, I can hear the playlist that the coffee shop has running through their speakers. Almost every song that they have played has been a personal favorite of mine, and it’s making me want to take my headphones off and simply listen to the coffee shop’s music. That never happens, so I’m pretty excited about it.

We have been here for a good while at this point, and so far I have seen many people come and go. A good chunk of these individuals have been students at High Point University just like me. How was I able to determine this? One thing about High Point students is that they are easy to identify. Pretty much all of us carry or wear something on a daily basis that signifies the school we attend, whether that be a sweatshirt, a water bottle, or a laptop sticker. Some students stay to do homework like Caroline, Cassidy, and I while others sit and chat with friends. Some simply picked up a coffee and left. Along with the vast array of college kids coming in and out of 83 Custom Coffee there are other customers who probably just live locally and want to spend their morning basking in the delectable smell of coffee grounds. It is harder for me to tell exactly what their profession is or what they are doing. I don’t want to encroach on their space, eavesdrop, or make them feel uncomfortable. I am fairly certain about one thing though. Everyone sitting in 83 Custom Coffee right now knows and loves the experience of being in a coffee shop while feeling both productive and relaxed at the same time. What a wonderful experience indeed!

Who: A college student trying to stay ahead of the curve

Where: 83 Custom Coffee in High Point, North Carolina

When: Monday morning on a chilly January day

What I’m drinking: Iced Cookie Butter Latte with Almond Milk

--

--

Emerson Hansen
Spill Them Beans

Honors student at High Point University majoring in Strategic Communications with minors in psychology and social media marketing!!