LOVE! And Marriage

Gayle Kabaker
Spiralbound
Published in
9 min readJun 25, 2018

--

Me and Peter in Bali

My husband Peter and I have been married for 31 years this August 9. Anyone who’s telling the truth knows that being married for a long time is NOT EASY. We’ve hit the wall many times, but we somehow manage to climb over and come out okay on the other side. So when I see couples getting married, I wonder if they have any idea about the hard work it takes to STAY married.

The sweet couple who rents the apartment on our property got married recently at Red Gate Farm, down the road from our house. I’d asked Sydney, the bride, if I could take a photo of her on their porch as I am a sucker for a beautiful bride. And beautiful flowers. Two of my favorite things to paint.

Sydney and her mom

AND I’d photographed and painted our daughter in this same spot last year.

Sonya on the porch with her bridesmaids. Peter watches

This time last year we were deep in wedding-planning mode, as our daughter Sonya was getting married to Howie on August 13 on our property. How crazy is it that two brides have stood on this porch in less than a year? My husband Peter is an artist, but he’s also a renaissance type of guy who…

--

--