Christians in a Cancel Culture, Rant Chapter 1

Anna Tan
Spiritual journeys
Published in
3 min readJul 6, 2021

--

I started this book a while ago and then gave it a rest to catch up on other reviews I was falling behind on. So now I’m back on it again, re-starting Chapter 1. I could very well just not finish reading it because whoo boy Chapter 1 is already annoying me, but you never know. He might pivot. He might say something useful. He may be right about stuff.

But since I’m already pretty much in a ranty mood, this might help get stuff out of my system as I work my way through the book. Slowly. Without stabbing things.

For now, here’s Chapter 1.

Ok, right off the bat, this book starts off with several false premises. But it’s fine. Every book needs a starting point. Maybe he’s just reiterating what his target audience already thinks and is just identifying with them. As much as you need a destination, you also need to know where you’re coming from.

I’d just like to really, really point out that Dallas reiterates here these really weird sentiments:

  1. That America is still a Christian nation under God. It hasn’t been for a long time. Did you just realise that? What rock have you been living under? However it started out with a “monolith” of Christian-professing peoples, that monolith isn’t there anymore.
  2. That just because it isn’t a “Christian nation”…

--

--

Anna Tan
Spiritual journeys

I write stuff then worry that everyone will hate it. Wannabe thespian. Worship leader. Bookworm. See my stuff: http://author.to/AnnaTan Website: www.annatsp.com