ARTICLE | SPIRITUALITY

The Wisdom of Dreams

The spiritual benefits of keeping a dream diary

Ravyne Hawke
Spiritual Secrets

--

Once upon a time, I dreamt I was a butterfly, fluttering hither and thither, to all intents and purposes a butterfly. I was conscious only of my happiness as a butterfly, unaware that I was myself. Soon I awaked, and there I was, veritably myself again. Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming I am a man.
Zhuangzi, The Butterfly as Companion: Meditations on the First Three Chapters of the Chuang-Tzu

I’ve often heard that dreams are our minds’ way of sorting out daily life. And while that may be true to some extent, I also believe that dreams are a gateway to our spiritual selves, if we are paying attention.

I love Zhuangzi’s dream about butterflies. How in dreams we feel so free and can do and be anything. And upon awaking, which world are we in, the real or dream world? At times, I will awaken from a dream and it will take me a while to realize that I am back in reality. Sometimes, I will mourn for that world I’ve just left and curse being in this one. Those dream worlds can appear more real than this world, so much so that I wonder if a dream is where my soul goes while my physical body rests.

Is my soul searching for its new home?

I’ve never seen death as an ending, but a new beginning for my soul. I believe in reincarnation, but I do not think we necessarily always reincarnate back on Earth. Quantum Physics tells us that there are multiple universes and dimensions. Perhaps our dreams allow us to tap into a new dimension or an altogether different universe. And perhaps my soul is in search of its next, new home and via dreams, it is showing me the possibilities for another life. This is why I believe keeping a dream journal is so important.

A dream journal is a way of tapping into the wisdom of dreams and gives us insight into our soul’s journey.

I keep a dream journal by my bed and when I awaken from a dream, I jot down as many details as I can remember before they fade away. I try to use all of my senses — what did I see, hear, taste, smell or touch during the dream? I pay close attention to colors and any symbols that may be present in the dream. Then I will record any feelings that may be lingering — happiness, sadness, melancholy, love, hate, etc. And finally, I will write down any people in the dream — if they are people I know or do not know, their prominence or lack thereof in the dream, their mannerisms, etc. These quick notes are merely the ingredients. The full substance comes with interpretation.

If one wants to truly learn to interpret their own dreams, they need to create a knowledge toolbox. They should immerse themselves in the works of Carl Jung and Joseph Campbell, and any philosophers who may deal with such things. They should learn the ancient understanding given to objects, colors, animals, plants, etc. and their symbolism. Learning the symbolism behind the Major and Minor Arcana of Tarot, as well as numerology and astrology can also be helpful.

Finally, once all of the above has been taken into consideration and the dream has been interpreted to the best of one’s abilities and knowledge, the final step is to sit and meditate with the dream. Listen for any quiet voices that may speak, how your chakras react, and if any other insights come to you. You could get greater understanding through your Higher Self, your spirit guides, the universe, angels or even the Divine.

When you have completed your meditation (however long it takes), write down any new information that may have arisen. What message might your soul have given to you? Are you human or a butterfly? Does it matter which? Whatever the message, believe in it and cherish it.

©2020 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved.

Lori Carlson writes poetry, fiction, articles, creative non-fiction and personal essays. Most of her topics are centered around Relationships, Nature, Spirituality, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Loss and Death, and the LGBTQ+ community. Check out her personal Medium blog here.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Spiritual Secrets

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh