Mortal Alchemy: Thank You, Death, for Living Within Me

A Cancer Poem

Kelli Lynn Grey
Spiritual Tree
1 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

I have written serious things about how I know Death so well
both through direct experience and via plants that cast a spell.

Yet, it’s never occurred to me
to celebrate the ways
that death has taken refuge in my life.

A sea of stones, unfolding between my bones,
glow on the CT scan with a cancerous light.

And I remind myself I chose to dance with you.
And, you, in your deep beauty, have agreed to dance with me.

You cradle my left breast,
briefly caress my lungs, and then, sink,
into my liver, spread, around my ovaries,
the very space where a younger me created life.

Death, you spin me out from your heart,
toward the edge of ravines,
and I slowly glide back into you,
longing for the way your touch clears my vision,
condenses my lifetimes into gold.

If you like my work on Medium, you may enjoy my book Queen of Wands. Learn more about this project and how to support my independent writing via my flow page: Kelli Lynn Grey’s Flowpage (flowcode.com).

Not a member of Medium yet? Join here.

--

--

Kelli Lynn Grey
Spiritual Tree

Neuro-divergent & chronically ill writer mom. Works w/ GA Center for Nonprofits & Education Without Limits. Author: Queen of Wands (soon) & Harvest (‘18)