The Great Mother

Finding Solace in Mother’s Arms

Varun Jain
Spiritual Tree
Published in
1 min readOct 11, 2020

--

I remember as a child,
Coming home after being ridiculed,
Or at times chided by the teacher.
When I was downhearted
I took refuge in my mother’s lap

I remember being heart-broken
Spending hours by the seashore
In the company of sky and ocean
To mend my broken heart
I took refuge in mother nature’s arms

Now that I long to break free
From this noise
Of desires and expectations
Of all mundane concerns
I take refuge in my spiritual heart.

When this dim and noise becomes
Overwhelmingly turbulent
I let go and surrender
I take refuge in God,
The Great Mother.

©️ Varun Jain 2020. All Rights Reserved.

Thank you Simran Kankas. This is in response to the weekly prompt on ‘Refuge’.

Thank you for stopping by. If you enjoyed this, explore few of my other poems / articles.

--

--

Varun Jain
Spiritual Tree

Meditation Trainer. Writer. Writing is an integral part of my spiritual journey...