Using Gratitude To Heal

An experience with Gratitude

Varun Jain
Spiritual Tree
Published in
3 min readSep 18, 2020

--

A little more than a year back, I had an injury in my left eye where something really sharp had pierced in which resulted in a cut in the cornea. The injury being in the eye, I wasn’t able to expose myself to any kind of light and was confined to my room with the drapes on completely for 2 weeks. At times I felt excruciating discomfort and pain and I used to spend most of my time eyes closed and lying down.

Once I woke up in the middle of the night with acute pain. I believe it was around 2 AM in the morning. I was simply sitting in the dark waiting for it to go away since if I lied down it hurt even more. As I was sitting, having nothing to do, suddenly, there was this deep reverence and gratitude that emerged for my body. I guess it is only during pain we are reminded of the value of our body. Perhaps it was due to the silence prevalent at that time, where the atmosphere is devoid of the noise of the minds with everyone sleeping. Not sure then, but in retrospect, I believe I was guided by God(Or Higher Wisdom, Universe, whatever word works for you) to use awareness and gratitude towards my body to heal myself.

I started taking a tour of my body. The way you take a tour of a house, you would go from room to room, likewise, I, a being of light, as a witness, traversed from my head to toe within…

--

--

Varun Jain
Spiritual Tree

Meditation Trainer. Writer. Writing is an integral part of my spiritual journey...