Writing Is A Form Of Prayer

There are many ways to kneel and kiss the ground-Rumi

Words by Egypt
Spiritual Tree
2 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Photo by Ümit Bulut on Unsplash

I have a confession to make, I never knew I’d be a writer. Okay, not in the sense of regularly sitting down to write, and taking on the identity of a writer. Yet here I am. My professional life has taken me along many roads, I’ve navigated myself from Med school to Medium. In pursuance of my dream of regularly meeting with words, untangling my mind, and unpacking the crevices of my heart in his sacred act that is writing.

Because for me I see any activity we infuse our hearts into as a form of prayer. As an act of love and devotion. Writing is one of my devotions. I’m not religious (I’m spiritual), but I’m also noticing that as I continue to write regularly, I find the process rather nourishing to my spirit.

If prayer can be defined as a communion with spiritual energy, then writing is a form of prayer to me.

When I’m in the flow of my words, I feel a stillness, and balancing of my internal energies. It’s calming, and settling in my soul. It’s an activity that allows me to steep myself in the present moment, and be one with my thoughts. It’s a form of meditation and prayer.

My writing has given me a vessel to exist with myself and my voice without overthinking. It’s a time when I am the most able to just be without tension. I find it such a beautiful form of soul enrichment. I have to ask myself, why didn’t I do more of it earlier?

I feel deeply connected to the genuineness of my being. I feel I’m offering a blessing to the hearts of my readers. I’m realising through something so simple, yet profound as writing, that I’m falling in love.

Falling in love with the craft of writing. I’m relishing the little ways it’s transforming me. It’s giving me a sense of quiet pride, and accomplishment, whilst being a powerful tool of self-care.

I guess one thing I’d say is to pay attention to your “hobbies” or interests. Give them some attention and time, and practice, and see what places it takes you. It might just transform your heart or your life

--

--

Words by Egypt
Spiritual Tree

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt