Want Healthy Relationships? Ditch Loyalty

This tired ideal does a lot more harm than good.

Jessica Wildfire
splattered

--

Photo by Jon Ly on Unsplash

Love triangle didn’t quite cover it. We were more of a pentagram. My best friend had told my fiance a secret. One that he wouldn’t share with me. Until I threatened to dump him.

That’s when he told the truth. My best friend had slept with my second best friend’s fiance. Seven times.

So there I was, caught between the most important people in my life. They were all going to make me choose.

It’s the kind of thing that can make your head explode.

Or your heart. If you have one.

My fiance didn’t like the ultimatum. He said, “I can’t believe you’re making me do this. She made me promise not to tell anyone.”

Long term, none of that mattered. My fiance and I split less than a year later. So did my second best friend and hers.

Something else always comes along to claim your loyalty. The concept means almost nothing. Other words do a way better job at describing our relationships.

We’ve all grown apart since then. Not just because of the betrayal and sabotage. People move away. Start families. New…

--

--