Spleenless During Flu Season

Kristin HG
Spleen Health
Published in
2 min readJan 20, 2014
Learn about Who Needs A Flu Vaccine.

According to this week’s CDC FluView, influenza activity remains high throughout the U.S. One of the best ways to avoid getting the flu or to reduce its severity is to get a flu vaccination — all the more important for those of us without spleens, which plays a key role in the immune system.

I received the flu shot in early October. Yet, last month I came down with a fever, cough and body aches — the first illness I’ve had since having my spleen removed more than a year ago. Prior to losing my spleen, I wasn’t particularly good about going to a doctor; I come from a family with a “tough-it-out” mentality about illness, and I rarely (if ever) went to a doctor for things like colds or the flu.

But without a spleen, your body has a harder time fighting certain kinds of infections, so my approach to medical care has changed. When I developed a 102 fever and flu-like symptoms last month, I called my doctor. Since I was visiting family out of state, she encouraged me to go to an urgent care clinic. While I thought this was unnecessary, I went anyway.

There, the doctor quickly became concerned as he learned of my lack of a spleen and listened to my lungs, which were full of fluid. He diagnosed me with influenza and bronchitis; gave me an albuterol breathing treatment; and handed me a stack of prescriptions to have filled, including Tamiflu and an antibiotic. Being spleenless and sick, I discovered, gets you a lot of attention at the doctor’s office.

I confess I found this experience both frightening and educational. Looking back, I know when I was exposed to the flu, and it took just four days for me to develop a cough, fever and infection in my lungs. In retrospect, I’m very glad I went to the doctor when I did. My lung infection could have developed into pneumonia, which can be particularly dangerous for asplenic people according to this study.

So here’s my takeaway for flu season: Get a flu shot; wash your hands (considered one of the best ways to stay healthy); and don’t hesitate to call the doctor.

--

--

Kristin HG
Spleen Health

Health writer, editor and photog. Former content strategy manager @SutterHealth; Editor in Chief @WomensRunning