What Do You Think of the Right to Bear Arms in India?

Centre for Civil Society
Spontaneous Order
Published in
1 min readJul 24, 2012

In the wake of the Aurora shootings in the USA last week, I wonder about what people think of the right to keep and bear arms in India.

I hate violence and wish that no one ever had to face the terror of someone pointing a gun at them. While my emotions scream “ban guns” in response to the Aurora shooting, my reason tells me that this will actually make things worse. We can’t just be governed by intentions and emotion, but must think about what the effects of gun laws will be.

In America, outlawing guns will shift the gun balance in the direction of those who are willing to do illegal things. What about here? My friend shared this article with me about gun ownership among women in Punjab. Don’t people have a right to self-defense against those that are armed or stronger than they are? What about women? Shouldn’t this be legal and open? To me, there should be 100 reasonable, good people ready to defend themselves wherever one or two disturbed criminals might do violence to others.

This video illustrates the importance of gun ownership for self-defense. What do you think? (http://youtu.be/KjH3ZMUks1o)

--

--

Centre for Civil Society
Spontaneous Order

Centre for Civil Society advances social change through public policy. Our work in #education, #livelihood & #policy training promotes #choice & accountability.