A golfers lifestyle

Austin Lux
Sporting Magazine
Published in
4 min readMay 10, 2019

A fun and interactive sport that one could play is golf. Golfing is popular around the US and also international. Most would agree that golf is for the old and aged of the world. This is true, golf is mainly more popular among older people because golf doesn’t require much physical ability. I play golf for the highschool team, I am on JV at the moment as a sophomore. Golf is a popular sport to play and watch. There are many tournaments that pros compete in to show their skills.

Tournaments for golf occur all around the world but the US and europe are the main countries for the sport. The main and most popular tournament for athletes is named the masters. In 2018 the winner of the masters was Patrick reed. Reed is 28 and was born in San antonio, Texas. His father helped him begin his journey with golf at the young age of 3. Reed had always seen golf differently than his friends and opponents he played with and against. He never say it as a sport or just a hobby as everyone else did. He say it as a way of life.

Everything reed did was for and about golf. He traveled to watch and compete in tournaments. He loved the game and he lived for the game. According to Reed his childhood idol was the famous tiger woods. Tiger is the most famous and most known golfer all around the world. Tiger just recently won his 3 masters which is tied with the old but still remembered Jack nicklaus. Tiger is the only golfer ever to have one 5 major titles in a row. After Tiger winning the masters in Augusta in 2019 he said to his fans he was retiring but I believe he won’t retire until he gets his 4th masters victory.

Every since Tiger has been in sports he’s stopped at nothing to be number 1. It’s nothing different now except there’s much more on the line. He wants to be known as the best golfer in history and he wants to make a better name for himself. Tiger is mostly known for his insane comeback shots when he is in a hard spot to recover from. Also his drives are very long for his age and athletic abilities. Tigers farthest drive ever in a tournament was 371 yards and his average distance in a tournament is around 315 to 320 yards. This is of course with the most powerful club in his bag known as the driver.

Usually tiger uses nike golf clubs which is not common among the pros. Most pros use titleist clubs and balls just because they are the most customizable and they are the most popular. Tiger takes a risk using nike clubs and products because the company is not known for their golf line in products but there running and other sport wear like baseball and basketball. Tiger has a big contract with nike so this is the main reason why he uses there clubs.

Golf again is obviously a very popular sport and it requires a lot of time and practice to master. Most of the pros are wealthy enough to where they have an indoor driving range or at least a lake in their own yard to practice hitting balls into. Personally I live on a golf course and there is a lake on it and it is in my backyard so I hit balls into the lake. This helps me improve my game easily and it is free because I hit all the bad balls that golfers hit into our yard. So it is free for me to hit balls and become better at the sport.

Personally my school golf season is over for this year but I plan on trying out next year and hopefully I will make varsity as a junior. There will only be 1 senior so I believe I have a pretty good chance of making the team in my opinion. This year as a sophomore I played on JV which was fun but I would like the chance to compete against other players and compete a more competitive scale against more skilled players. This year the best score I had in a tournament was 91 but at school practice my best was a 85 which is very good for me. I haven’t been playing golf that long so shooting 14 over par is not bad at all for me.

Golf is a fun sport and it involves a lot of skill and time. The only way you can get better at golf is just practice practice and practice. Yes it helps to have good clubs and good equipment but it’s mostly about how you play the game not who has the most expensive clubs. Golf is a fun and exciting sport so go practice and i’ll see you at the 2020 masters.

--

--