Para-swimming athlete and sports nutritionist

José Guilherme Cavalieri Vieira
sportinglobal
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2022

In today’s interview, our young guest tells us about her career in the sports industry, the responsibilities taken, and how she has been conducting her professional career.

An example as an athlete, but also as a sports professional, she knew how to manage her career with contracts, sponsorships, media, and goals. Thus having a large base to continue in the sports industry as a nutritionist too.

Thanks so much for sharing your story with SportIn Global Community, Dayanne!

Dayanne, to help our community get to know you better, could you share with us your professional experience and about your professional trajectory in Paraswimming?

As a Professional, I am a graduate of Nutrition by Universidade Paulista from Brazil. And post-graduated in nutritional supplementation and herbal medicines in clinical and sports nutrition.

I am currently a sports nutritionist for wrestling and Youth swimming teams at Sesi-SP, on Osasco unit.

And as an athlete competing for the “S06 class”, I was champion and Brazilian record holder of the 50m butterfly and 100m backstroke, in addition to bronze medal in Guadalajara 2011, Gold medal in Toronto 2015 and Silver medal in Lima 2019.

You’ve always been great responsible for your career as an athlete, you could share with us what was it like to manage your own career by reconciling with the training routine?

I was always responsible, however, a few years ago I was on the team of speakers “Palestra de atleta”, where I count on a specific person who mainly manages my lectures. Reconcile this whole process of contracts, events, commitments to sponsors with the training routine, has always been a challenge, but I always tried to organize myself, plan my time and everything always aligned with my coach. So, this understanding on my coach’s part has always been fundamental. After all, we all know the importance of spreading Paralympic sport, and it is through the events and lectures that we achieve this.

You have had a brilliant career, tell us the greatest memory you have of a result or championship.

Everyone was very important. But as I started swimming in 2006, the bronze medal in Guadalajara 2011, despite the young age, 1st Parapan of the trajectory, I climbed to the podium. At that time I had no dimension, but today, I consider it rather a great moment of my career.

Recently, you announced your retirement as an athlete, what reasons led you to plan this transition?

I had several reasons: My academic background, which undoubtedly showed me a “new” and incredible world outside the life of an athlete; The subjectivity with which paralympic swimming classifications are made, which discourages a lot, all the time compete with the “wrong” tire. And to know that the athlete, while principal affected by it has no “voice”. And finally my will to live nutrition, live my profession and evolve as a sports nutritionist.

Today you can still act in sports, now as a nutritionist, what challenges have you been facing?

Undoubtedly the challenge of dealing with adolescents, with this phase so questionable and of choices. But it’s been really cool, I’ve learned a lot from them too and even more for being a great Brazilian swimming team.

Connect with Dayanne: https://www.sportinglobal.com/user/profile/72e3c6cc-3558-1a00-670c-7008c9d32063

How is it for you, being a woman, to act in the sports industry?

It’s an achievement! And at the same time it brings me a lot of awareness of how much is needed to increase the female audience in this scenario. We continue in search of this even greater scope.

A final message for our audience.

Always believe in your dreams! It sounds cliché, but the truth is that faith, resilience and undoubtedly courage lead us to incredible places!

--

--