Sport as the lifelong passion!

Alina Katelik
sportinglobal
Published in
5 min readJun 25, 2021

Today we are going to talk about Diana with a very rich and interesting professional and academic background. Diana is a passionate sport lover, tennis player and a part of the Juan Carlos Ferrero Academy in Spain.

Also, she is the alumni of one of our academic partners — the European Sport Business School in Valencia.

And now Diana is going to share with us more about her academic and professional career.

Enjoy this great talk with Diana!

Diana, before we start, can you share with us a bit about your professional and academic experience?

Sure, I majored in Business Administration with some certifications in Event Organization and Entrepreneurship in México. Since I was 18, I tried to be involved in different working fields like education, government institutions, events and hospitality… after had worked in different fields my goal was to work in what I was passionate about — sport and that’s how I took the step to come to Spain to start ESBS master.

What is sport for you? How did your passion for sports come to life? Can you share with us a bit also about your career as a tennis player?

Sport for me is life, my entire life and also, a way of living. If you pay attention on sport in early ages, it not only teaches kids coordination, flexibility, etc. It teaches them discipline, passion, consistency, sportsmanship… It prepares you for life and that’s something I really love about sport.

My passion for sports came from childhood since my mom, as I remember, liked basketball a lot and I have some pictures of me, little girl, playing and she always tried to have me involved in a sport. I tried basketball, volleyball, swimming, ballet, bowling, soccer (which I loved a lot) and the one that captured my heart, tennis. I played in a very high competitive level and did great in my state as well as nationally but for so many reasons I couldn’t get to continue my dream of being professional player… but there’s a reason for everything, like people say.

Sign up and connect with ESBS — www.sportinglobal.com

As ESBS alumni, how did ESBS Business school helped you in your career path? What program did you study and what were your key learning points?

I studied the Master in International Sports Management, I really enjoyed the opportunities they gave to us of volunteering in different events, personally helped me to know sports I have never experienced like handball, motor racing, golf and that gives you a different perspective of sport and how it’s managed in a different culture, in my case. I loved the closeness of the school staff and also, besides from the professional part, we had mentoring classes where they helped us to be developed in the personal part. I remember that in one of them I shared my desire to work in a big tennis event and how bad I wanted it, so they supported me all the way to get right where I am, which I’m really grateful for.

You are working in Juan Carlos Ferrero Academy… How did you become the part of this company and what are your professional responsibilities?

Well, after lockdown my goal was to take advantage of the effort I had made to come and study in Spain and the employment department of ESBS got me in touch with the team here in Equelite. I got to get an interview and they gave me the chance to do an internship supporting them in the summer camp and some important tennis tournaments they were holding. They liked my tennis and academic background and after being a month here as an intern, wanted me to join the team. Almost a year after, I’m in the marketing department, getting in charge of the tournaments we hold here in the Academy and in this summer season, I’m the Director of the Summer Camp along with my amazing team. I cannot ask for more, I’m pretty blessed.

What professional tips do you have for new students who are trying to find their path in the sports industry?

My advice would be not to get tired of trying and instead to try to look for ways to improve until you get where you want to be. The sports industry isn’t an easy field to enter but while you are trying, keep learning, keep taking volunteering opportunities in the field and at any level, because people can see your desire and passion in every single thing you do, even though is mopping or cleaning in a stadium or doing ticketing in an event. People around can see your passion through what you do, it’s a race of being persistent and with the pandemic, even though has been a very difficult situation, It’s also bringing a lot of opportunities, so please keep trying.

What professional goals you have for the next 5 years?

My main goal is to be the Tournament Director of the ATP Challenger we hold here in Equelite each year as well as in our ITF Junior Grade I. Being in charge of these big events is a big responsibility because everything has to be prepared with long time in advance, we have to follow specific standards and of course, give the players the best attention possible. In order to reach this goal, I’m getting prepared in all aspects of the sport like learning all the ATP and ITF Standards and procedures to hold tournaments of this level. I have taken some referring courses and I’m about to get my license soon, to get to know some details and aspects within the court and get a 360º perspective.

That is my experience and my life!

--

--