Sports Events — Diana Korir

José Guilherme Cavalieri Vieira
sportinglobal
Published in
5 min readOct 14, 2022

Today we are going to Kenya to share Diana Korir's story in the sports industry. Diana has great experience as an event manager and joined our mentorship program S02 this semester.

Enjoy this great talk with Diana to learn more about her experience, the sports industry in Kenya and more.

Thanks for joining us, Diana.

Diana, could you share with us your academic background and professional experiences?

I studied Law for my undergraduate studies at Strathmore Law School in Kenya and I am currently pursuing a masters in Sports Events Management at Leeds Beckett University in the UK. I am currently a sports events manager at Golazo Right Here Kenya, and I have been with the company for 1year and 6months. I have been involved in organizing major sports events, especially for World Athletics. Though my biggest responsibility was organizing the 1st edition of the Nairobi City Marathon in Kenya and it was the best-organized marathon in Kenya.

You’re already working in the industry. What was it like after you graduated and got this job?

Before going to do my master's, I had been organizing some sports events while doing my undergraduate. Around that time the CEO of Golazo Group Bob Verbeeck offered me a job to be an event organizer for the Kenyan office though I needed further education in sports events management. Hence for me it was not difficult to get a job as I already had an opportunity back in Kenya. However, when covid-19 came I was very stressed as I wasn’t sure if there were going to be any events and even questioned where I had made the right choice selecting sports as my career and not law anymore.

Connect with Diana: https://www.sportinglobal.com/user/profile/92d72270-f717-8a15-44fc-0816c4d1f7d3

As an event manager, what are some of your key responsibilities? And what tips would you give to those who want to work with sport events?

Some of my key responsibilities include event planning and coordination, meeting and liaising with the local organizing committee for certain events that we have organized, account management when it comes to social media and communications and deal with suppliers. However, my roles tend to vary depending on the events that we are organizing.

The tips I would give those who want to work with sports events to always be flexible as most times things at times may not go the way you want them, and you always have to be able to come up with solutions quite swiftly. Also, passion is very important as during the challenging times that is what will give you the determination to keep going. I have realized that I can go on working continuously without taking a break to ensure that everything goes well as am very passionate about what am doing.

What has been your favourite event to work on so far? And why?

My favorite event so far though it was the most hectic was the Nairobi City Marathon that was held on 8th May 2022. We organized the event within a month, and we were able to get the target of 9,000 participants. Though my happiest moment was seeing how the participants were very happy and said how it was the best organized marathon they have been to in Kenya. My joy is to always organize events that provide amazing experiences for the participants. Seeing participants smile and comment on how they enjoyed an event, and they look forward to coming back is what I live for when it comes to organizing an event.

Tell us more about the topic of your research, how does sports investments in Kenya function?

My research is about how Eldoret town in Uasin County in Kenya has developed as a result of investments by athletes. It involved interviewing key informants that is athletes both current and retired, Athletics Kenya representatives and also people from the Ministry of sports, culture and heritage.

Based on the data that I collected sports investments has mostly entailed athletes investing what they have earned from the different sports events that they have participated in. The key sectors that athletes have invested in have included buying land, farming (Tea and Maize), building rental properties and also fuel stations.

The region that these investments have been made is in the rift valley region where most of the athletes come from. The main area is Eldoret town in Uasin Gishu county which has developed as a result of the athletes investing in this town. Most athletes live in Eldoret (which is known as the city of champions) though most of them come from counties bordering Uasin Gishu county such as Nandi County (known as the source of champions), Elgeyo Marakwet and Trans-Nzoia.

A key component to the sports investments is that it was as a result of the money they got from the events that they take part in especially international sports events. Most of the athletes stated that if it were not for the events, they took part in they would probably not have been able to invest. Also, most of the athletes indicated how their managers and coaches played a huge role in ensuring that they invested. This is an indication that there is a lot involved in ensuring that the sports investments take place.

What are your expectations of the SportIn Global mentorship program? What do you expect to develop along with your mentor?

I am looking forward to getting a mentor or several mentors who can always reach out to for advice and guidance with regards to my career and personal growth. I look forward to interacting with people from different regions to help gain an understanding of how events work in other areas and see what I could pick up and be beneficial for me as I organize events in Kenya.

I expect to also gain a long-lasting friendship and mentor who I can continue communicating with even after the mentorship program is over.

To finish, leave a message to our community.

Thank you all for having me within your community and lets work together to continue building sports events.

--

--