Jayhawks with New Jobs in Sport — Summer 2017

I hope everyone is having a wonderful summer! It’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to update with our Study Abroad trip and summer schedule but I’m super excited to share the new positions a few of our Jayhawks have earned in the past month. From San Francisco to Chicago to Kansas City, our graduates are spreading the Jayhawk brand across the US! As always, you can view the full KUSMPS database at tinyurl.com/JayhawksInSport.

Stephanie Silver (UG 2016)
Agency Coordinator — Sports/Events
KemperLesnik in Chicago, Illinois

“KemperLesnik is a public relations, activation, and events agency in Chicago. They sell and implement sponsorships (whether it’s an event or a sale as small as a sticker on a court during a game) and help execute brand awareness. The biggest events they manage are the Maui Jim invitational, CBS Sports classic, and the McDonald’s all American games. They also do a lot of sponsorship events around the PGA tour and different wine festivals.”

Jackie Labarge (UG 2016, Current Masters Student)
Event Coordinator
Kansas City Chiefs

“I am the new full time event coordinator for the Kansas City Chiefs. I plan, manage and coordinate all of the special events that arrowhead stadium puts on year round. This includes weddings, proms, company Christmas parties, corporate events and more. I also run VIP tailgates on game days and help with concert staffing and operations. Arrowhead stadium is such an iconic venue and the Chiefs organization is so historic and fan oriented, I am honored to be part of so much history and tradition and be a member of Chiefs Kingdom!”

Megan Lewis (Current Masters Student)
Club Host
Sporting Kansas City

“As the Club Host I will be in charge of greeting and helping associates and all guests into and out of the Sporting Kansas City Office. On game days, I will serve as a host to the Victory Suite. The Victory Suite hosts the VIP guests invited by owners, coaches, and the highest priority sponsors. It also hosts the Victory Project guest, which is a family with a child who is battling or has beaten cancer. It is an honor to be selected to serve in such a role for an organization that has already given me so much. I spent both my undergraduate and graduate internship hours with the organization and created a work ethic I never dreamed of. Being offered this position truly means that hard work pays off and that networking is an essential part to being successful in the sport world.”

Madison Stein (UG 2015)
Support Services Coordinator
University of Oklahoma Athletics

“Responsible for the management, coordination, and scheduling of tutoring as well as advancing OU Athletics Career Services and other engagement initiatives for OU student-athletes.”

Billy Barnes (UG 2016)
Game Presentation and Live Events Coordinator
San Francisco 49ers

“I want give a special thank you to the KU sport management program for not only preparing me to work in sports but also fostering the camaraderie we all share as Jayhawks with my fellow classmates and alums in the industry. I am excited to embark on my first season with the San Francisco 49ers and proud to be an alum of the program.”

--

--

Jordan Bass
Sport Management Program at the University of Kansas

Associate Chair of HSES Department/Sport Management Program Director at the University of Kansas