Jayhawks with New Jobs in Sport — Fall 2019 Edition

It’s been too long since we’ve posted an update of the new positions our graduates have accepted. Masters student Sam Klein checks in with six Jayhawks to see how they’re doing in exciting new places.

Valerie White

Development Administrator
University of Kansas Endowment

“In my current position, I assist with the comprehensive fund raising program for the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita focusing on major gifts from community members, alumni, corporations, foundations, organizations, faculty and staff and other potential donors.” Valerie White said. “In collaboration with School of Medicine-Wichita leadership, I assist with managing a dynamic, community-based advocacy board, 4-Wichita, to develop resources and governmental support for School of Medicine-Wichita funding initiatives.”

During her time at KU, Valerie worked with a variety of areas within KU Athletics in the student-athlete support services, facilities and event management, the Women’s basketball team and the Bill Self basketball camps: “Those experiences gave me the opportunity to discover my talents and the drive to be a successful young professional.”

Chris Watkins (left) with Sport Management Program Director Jordan Bass before a KU football game during Chris’s internship

Christopher Watkins

Offensive Quality Control Coach/Video Analyst
Howard University Football

“In August of 2019, Howard University head football coach Ron Prince offered me a position on his staff as on Offensive Quality Control Coach/Video Analyst,” Chris Watkins said. “My duties include creating and organizing all facets of offensive football for Howard University: Practice film, game film, scouting reports, practice drills and scripts, positional coaching, not to mention also assisting in recruiting the same way I did before at KU.”

Christopher’s KU experience was different from others. As he describes, “I was out of school and running my own landscaping business when one day in 2015, I read an article in the LJWorld about a Sport Management graduate from KU who had been hired at Syracuse University as the Director of Recruiting.” After this, Christopher went to Kansas City Kansas Community College for two years before transferring to KU and meeting Dr. Bass. He began as a non-traditional transfer student after two. While at KU, Christopher interned with KU Football in 2018 as a recruiting intern.

“My time at KU was filled with countless instances of mentoring, networking, learning, and growing. The faculty at KU pushed my classmates and I to get our foot in the sporting world door before we graduated, as it can accelerate our ability to break into the sporting realm. From Day 1, Dr. Bass and Dr. Gordon stressed networking, developing a brand, and positive social media presence. Because of their tireless efforts, I was able to establish a wide, diverse, and powerful network of KU alums and established folks in the sport industry.”

Jim Small, Major League Baseball

Jim Small

Senior Vice President, International
Major League Baseball

As the Senior Vice President, International, of Major League baseball, Jim Small is responsible for the league’s international business initiatives. His responsibilities range from growing MLB’s brand and development globally, to creating and nurturing a talent pipeline in key markets, all the way to overseeing the World Baseball Classic. When asked about his new position, Jim said: “My new position is a bit different than anything else I have done before. It is much less transactional… I don’t go out and make deals for TV rights or sponsorship. Instead, it is much more strategic and is about building consensus among my bosses, our owners, media, business partners and colleagues for increasing MLB’s global presence. It is a challenge, but an awful lot of fun.”

Jim graduated from KU with a B.A. in Journalism. When asked to reflect on his time at KU and how it influenced his professional career in sports, this is what he shared: “KU shaped everything about my career… while there, I not only became a strong communicator, but I was exposed to things that I wouldn’t have been able to experience at any other university. I was able to write news stories that were picked up in Time Magazine and cover the 1980 Democratic Convention in New York. All as a student. When I switched to sports writing, I had similar opportunities. In fact, it was while covering the Royals for the UDK (University Daily Kansan) in 1981 that I was offered a position in the Royals PR department as an intern. That opportunity lead to a 37 (and counting) year career in sports marketing. I owe all that I have accomplished professionally to KU.”

Matt Richardson

Director, Global Partnerships
AEG/Los Angeles Kings

“My current position with AEG Worldwide (owner is Phil Anschutz, a Kansas grad himself) is in AEG’s Global Partnerships vertical,” Matt Richardson said. “I am in charge of driving revenue with business partners and sponsors for the LA Kings — NHL and the other platforms in the AEG portfolio, including LA Galaxy, Staples Center, LA Live and Music. I am responsible for selling complex sponsorship assets that include on-site branding, digital media platforms, traditional media, and experiential activations at event properties.”

When asked about his experience within the Sport Management program at KU, Matt had nothing but praise: “My experience at Kansas will impact me for a lifetime. Through the relationships in the Sport Management program, I was able to begin my sports career as an undergrad and went on to work for the Kansas Athletics department for 3 years in multiple roles across the organization literally starting in the mail room as a Sophomore to Ticket Sales & Equipment Manager for the KU Football program. The relationships I made at Kansas continue to impact my career and allow doors to open that never would have before due to the amazing people I met in my 4 years on campus.”

Alyssa Henke

Youth Marketing Coordinator
Minnesota Vikings

Originally from Minnesota, Alyssa graduated from KU with a degree in Sport Management in 2018. Alyssa is the Youth Marketing Coordinator for the Minnesota Vikings. She oversees all of their youth programs with the intention of “growing the next generation of Vikings fans.” Some of the programs that she oversees are: the Vikings Kids Club, Vikings Explorers, the Vikings Newborn Fan Club and the Vikings Huddle. When training camp is in session, Alyssa is tasked with the job of managing thirty-five interns to execute the Kids Zone and all other activations.

Alyssa’s time at KU was filled with a variety of experiences. She was the student equipment manager for the Women’s Volleyball team for the 2015–2017 seasons, and completed an internship with the College World Series of Omaha, Inc., as the Marketing & Event Intern during her final semester at KU. “I absolutely loved my time at KU. I have met many wonderful people through sport, and know I would not be where I am today if it were not for my bosses, teachers, and mentors who have always been willing to advocate on my behalf. With their support, a strong work ethic, great communication, and a bit of luck with timing, I landed my current position. I love working for my hometown team, and am thankful to have a job that blends my passions for sports and kids.”

Aaron Parris

Vice President for Partner Success
Fevo

“Currently I’m the Vice President for Partner Success for Fevo,” Aaron Parris said. “Fevo is a technology and strategic revenue consulting company based in New York City that helps teams, festivals, and venues find solutions for driving revenue and attendance to new heights through technology, social sharing and other creative solutions. We currently work with over 300 partners in the U.S., Canada, and the UK. My role specifically is to help advise specific partners on how to drive additional revenues via technology, creative ticket/fundraising campaigns, and targeted acquisition. I work directly with 49 partners, the majority of which are in the college space including KU, Alabama, Clemson, Texas, and Ohio State among others in the pro space — specifically the Chiefs, Royals, Blues, and Sporting KC.”

“My experience [at KU] was a great one driven primarily by Scott “Scooter” Ward. The program itself did a great job of helping me understand both the educational and business role of sports and allowed me to succeed at the NCAA level for the first ten years of my career and helped launch me into my current role that has be working with teams nationwide. Without KU, I couldn’t have made it to where I am today and I am forever grateful.”

--

--

Jordan Bass
Sport Management Program at the University of Kansas

Associate Chair of HSES Department/Sport Management Program Director at the University of Kansas