Adjusting To Life After Basketball

Evan Hanks
Sports Loser
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2016

The NBA season is officially over. LeBron finally wins one for Cleveland. Where do we go from here?

Guys I have to admit, I’m a little bummed out. I got on the train too late. The season really flies by when you only watch like 3 games. So what’s next? Well, NFL season is still a few weeks away. I guess Arena Football is a thing. MLB? Not before October.

Multi purpose stadiums across the country will soon be pulling up the hardwood. It will sit unused in storage for months. Where once you could here the sounds of squeaking Nike’s, there’s only the thunderous roar of monster truck rally’s. Monster trucks. Loud, uncaring machines. They care not for the ground which they tread. They only care for destruction. Kid’s seats are just five bucks.

I’ve been endlessly refreshing Twitter. Looking for any news I can find. The Detroit Lions won’t be wearing red uniforms next year they tell me. That’s not news, much like the sun setting in the West. Some things are just certain. For now though, the sun has set on basketball.

Okay, maybe I should check on the NFL. There’s got to be something going on.

OH GOD DAMMIT. Pour one out for the NBA guys. I’m gonna go read about Ryan Kelly learning what an olive fork is.

--

--