I’m Gonna Dunk On Blake Griffin

Evan Hanks
Sports Loser
Published in
2 min readJul 1, 2016

--

Blake Griffin is a good friend* of mine. I’m gonna dunk on him.

*I’ve never met or spoken to Blake Griffin.

Since I’ve recently been getting into watching basketball, I’ve decided to get back into playing. Most importantly, I need to dunk on one of the NBA’s most prolific dunkers. That’s a big undertaking, but it needs to happen. It won’t happen overnight though. Let’s look at the steps I need to take.

I need to learn how to dunk

Listen, there’s levels to this shit. Before I dunk on my pal* Blake, I need to learn how to dunk in general. For this I’ll need:

  • A basketball. I currently do not own one. This is the most important thing.
  • Basketball shoes. These will supposedly help my vertical. I already have some in mind, but they’re expensive.
  • I need to work out a little bit. My legs are really skinny and I can’t jump very well.

I’m not totally new to this though. Let’s take a look at my career stats.

My Career Stats

I played basketball in like, the fifth grade. I can’t find my stats on Pro Basketball Reference, which is a shame. Luckily they aren’t very hard to remember.

  • Games Played: 7
  • W-L: 3–4
  • Points: 0
  • Shots: 0/1
  • FG %: 0%
  • Fouls: 1

After that I didn’t play a lot of basketball. Here are my lifetime stats:

  • Last time I held a basketball: Maybe a month ago?
  • Do I know what a basketball is?: Yeah, of course.
  • Letters: H O R S (so fucking close)

So what’s the plan of action here?

  • Phase 1: Get good enough to touch the rim. This is a big one.
  • Phase 2: Dunk. Obviously.
  • Phase 3: Dunk on a regular person. Like you or me, but not me because I’m gonna be the one dunking.
  • Phase 4: Dunk over my car. I must assert my dominance by dunking over my 2006 Dodge Stratus.
  • Phase 5: Dunk on Blake Griffin. The big fish.

I will begin training immediately. It will be a long journey, but the reward is worth it. I’ll update as I go along. There’s absolutely no way I get past phase 1.

--

--