Image from broadway.com

Actor Jim Parsons wants to intern at the Dan Patrick Show

Dr. Mark Drapeau
Sports Month
2 min readNov 28, 2012

--

As part of my month-long cable and political news cleanse that I announced here at Medium a couple of days ago, I was watching the Dan Patrick Show telecast on NBC Sports channel this morning. They had some typical guests coming up in the show - commentator Cris Collinsworth, former NBA star Shaq - but then I noticed they had Jim Parsons.

What? Jim Parsons, the Emmy-winning sitcom actor who plays Sheldon on The Big Bang Theory? I’ve gotta DVR this.

And I did.

Just watched it. Turns out that Jim is a huge fan of the Dan Patrick Show and his “Danettes,” basically his producers and assistants that make the show run. He watches it all the time, including in his dressing room.

Here’s Parsons on the Dan Patrick show on YouTube.

I’m not a Jim Parsons superfan or anything, but I thought this was a really cool segment. Jim is about as dorky as you can look for a big-time actor, but he loves watching/listening about sports. And he fell in love with Dan Patrick and his show and staff (who are very visible on the telecast).

He was even gushing a little.

My point is that I wouldn’t have seen a great segment like this and gotten perspective on one of the great current sitcom actors had I been watching Morning Joe or some other cable news show in the morning. It only took two days to make me really happy I’ve given up cable news, at least for a while.

The video clip above is a great little nugget of television. Discovering that Jim Parsons is fanatical about sports radio is like hearing that Jon Hamm is playing Dungeons and Dragons on Friday nights.

In other words, awesome.

--

--

Dr. Mark Drapeau
Sports Month

I am a scientist, analyst, strategist, and writer specializing in providing decision advantage for leaders.