Tyranny of the Urgent

J. Roberts
Sportsbriefcase
Published in
2 min readSep 11, 2016

“Your greatest danger is letting the urgent things crowd out the important.”

That was one of the glaring sentences that stood out to me a few years ago when I first came across Tyranny of the Urgent. It’s a quick essay written fifty years ago about time and priorities. It’s a faith-based work and I believe it has application for everyone whether you have a faith or not.

Forty or fifty years from now when I reflect on my life’s journey, the Tyranny of the Urgent will likely be recalled as a major pivot point in my life. I have more resources available on the topic if anyone is curious.

“Slowing Down” is an hour-long podcast that was intriguing to me about what we can learn by slowing down — even procrastinating.

From the Offseason:

Must read: What really happened on Air Force 1 on 9/11

Great behind the scenes read on the implosion of the daily fantasy football industry.

Catch up on the real story of the Rams’ move to L.A.

The baffling reason many millennials don’t eat cereal.

I’ve always been a fan of Joe Buck and this was an entertaining read.

In case you were wondering if capitalism is still alive and well in America, consider the Fidget Cube.

Movies I’m Watiting toSee

  • The Founder
  • Hell or High Water
  • The Founder
  • The Accountant
  • The Hollars
  • Gleason
Mesmorizing
Music

--

--