Everything in the 2019 NFL Season Was Explained in Week 1

A trip down NFL Redzone memory lane reveals just how much we learned back way back in Week 1, when nothing seemed real and football was set to go on forever…

Brandon Anderson
SportsRaid

--

NFL REDZONE CHANNEL IS RE-AIRING THE ENTIRE 2019 NFL SEASON ONE WEEK AT A TIME, thanks to the Coronavirus. Week 1 aired on loop Monday, Week 2 games are showing today, Week 3 tomorrow, and so on over the next 17 days. In a world without sports, it’s a veritable Coronavirus miracle. Guess that means it’s time to update the scoreboard:

Covid 19, Everyone else 1

With football back in my life, I eagerly set my tuner to NFL Redzone and welcomed Scott Hanson and the NFL back into my life, the rhythms of NFL broadcasts, needless flags, and endless reviews filling my living room with sports again. At last: a moment of normalcy amidst pandemic.

I honestly expected little more than fun background viewing. After all, football feels like an eternity ago, and that makes Week 1 several lifetimes ago. Could we really learn anything from watching Week 1 games?

I certainly didn’t expect much. But what I found was the exact opposite. Looking back at Week 1, there were so many breadcrumbs and mile markers practically screaming at us about everything that would be coming in the 2019 football season. All we had to do was notice…

--

--

Brandon Anderson
SportsRaid

Sports, NBA, NFL, TV, culture. Words at Action Network. Also SI's Cauldron, Sports Raid, BetMGM, Grandstand Central, Sports Pickle, others @wheatonbrando ✞