NBA Draft Stock Rising and Falling (2/4/19)

Matisse Thybulle owns Kevin Porter Jr., Keldon Johnson is fading, and Jontay Porter is the forgotten lottery pick

Brandon Anderson
SportsRaid

--

With the football season officially behind us, it’s time to give our full attention to basketball. The college season is heating up as we head toward March, and most NCAA teams have played about 20 games so it’s a great time to check in on NBA draft stock around the league.

I watch a few college basketball games a day and have built a 10,000-word book of notes on prospects, but rather than saving it up for June, now seems like a good time to start checking in on the names of interest. These notes below are based mostly on my own scouting of each player and footage. I’m not projecting based on NBA intel, though I do note areas where I’m hearing similar or conflicting findings from NBA talent scouts. When I say someone is rising or falling, I’m talking about my own rankings.

My big board is very fluid after Zion Williamson, changing daily as opinions are shaped and molded each game, but some players are rising or falling more than others. Let’s take a look at why one Porter replaced another in my lottery and why Keldon Johnson is beginning to slide after sitting in my top 10 all season. We’ll do this every week or so from now on, so check back again soon.

--

--

Brandon Anderson
SportsRaid

Sports, NBA, NFL, TV, culture. Words at Action Network. Also SI's Cauldron, Sports Raid, BetMGM, Grandstand Central, Sports Pickle, others @wheatonbrando ✞